Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2007, 01:21 AM   #1
Daemon Poster
 
karling07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,099
Talking XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

hahaha yeahhh this is my new project. I was given a school laptop -- it's an IBM thinkpad, here are the specs:

32MB RAM
250MHZ Processor
1.2GB Hard Drive

I have completely stripped down XP Pro to work on this computer - installing right now ( successfully skipped the 64MB memory requirement step :P )

Pictures to come if it works... Otherwise I'll have to next try 2000, and then of course... 98
__________________

__________________
traffic in the skyy
karling07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 01:25 AM   #2
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

You know they got XP to run on 7 Mhz and 16 MB ram, right?
__________________

__________________
=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 07:50 AM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
karling07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,099
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

hahaha yeah i saw that digg- it's what inspired me, im having enough trouble with my specs right now unfortunately...
__________________
traffic in the skyy
karling07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 07:52 AM   #4
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

Meh, to be honest I don't see the point in it lol, put the computer to use, install Windows 98SE, and use it as a folding box or something.
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 08:14 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
mongoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to mongoman
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

^lol yea dont put xp on it thatll prob make it rlly sloooooow
__________________
||Intel Core i5 @ 4.1ghz||Intel DP55KG||Corsair 750w psu||8gb G. Skill ram||120gb intel ssd 2x 1.5tb WD Green||MSI Gtx 970||
mongoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 09:38 AM   #6
Daemon Poster
 
karling07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,099
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

Ewww... you guys were right - installed alright, but it took 4 minutes to boot up and every time i opened any windows, it kind of just froze :P

Hahahah i'll compromise and go with Windows 2000 -- its fast/reliable. if all else fails... i guess im back to 98
__________________
traffic in the skyy
karling07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 09:49 AM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
mongoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to mongoman
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackson.MacKenzie
Ewww... you guys were right - installed alright, but it took 4 minutes to boot up and every time i opened any windows, it kind of just froze :P

Hahahah i'll compromise and go with Windows 2000 -- its fast/reliable. if all else fails... i guess im back to 98
theres nothin wrong wit 98...its just a bit older thats all
__________________
||Intel Core i5 @ 4.1ghz||Intel DP55KG||Corsair 750w psu||8gb G. Skill ram||120gb intel ssd 2x 1.5tb WD Green||MSI Gtx 970||
mongoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 09:55 AM   #8
Daemon Poster
 
karling07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,099
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

98 is less stable than 2000; IMO 2000 was one of MS's best releases... (NOT to be confused with ME, which is without a doubt the worst).
__________________
traffic in the skyy
karling07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 10:31 AM   #9
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 116
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

I still perfer to use win 2k over XP because of reliability. Imagine an athlon 3500+ overclocked to 3.3ghz, 2 GBs of Ram, and a nvedia 7600 on a win 2k system. It runs very fast, maybe even faster than if it was an XP machine!
__________________
How many brothas fell victim to tha streetz
Rest in peace young nigga, there's a Heaven for a 'G'
be a lie, If I told ya that I never thought of death
MY NIGGAS, WE THA LAST ONE'S LEFT
but life goes on.....
hippie420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 11:24 AM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

give vista a shot.
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0