Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2006, 08:14 AM   #1
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Question Xear 3D

This was already installed when my rig was built for me, I get the main advantages of using it, but up to now have not bothered, my speakers are, of necessity, only 30 inches apart, & 30 inches in front of me, at head height, my workstation is in a alcove 48 inches wide, so would it be useful in my situation, bearing in mind that I can't re-locate to another area.

Thanks.
__________________

Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 08:19 AM   #2
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: Xear 3D

Sorry Brookfield, what are you asking lol...or are you telling us something, or am I slow?
__________________

joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 08:38 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Xear 3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by joxley1990
Sorry Brookfield, what are you asking lol...or are you telling us something, or am I slow?
I am asking if it would be to my advantage to use it where I'm located in the room.
Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 08:41 AM   #4
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: Xear 3D

Oh, sorry

Is there no way you can re-position the speakers, would be good, but evan better if they were more around the room..
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 10:46 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
Bahawolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Xear 3D

My speakers are fairly close and I don't have much problems.
To get maximum performance though, you should probally set them up where intended..
Bahawolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 11:39 AM   #6
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: Xear 3D

as said.

for best performance it's better to have them further apart.
but for *most* pc users, (who simply have the speakers along side the monitor) Xgear 3d is a waste of resource, (unless you like to play about with the acoustic effects), but even that gets a litle boring after a few minutes!

of course, having the speakers closer, doesn't degrade anything in terms of performance, just that the left right balance becomes center/center balance.
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 01:11 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Xear 3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by joxley1990
Oh, sorry

Is there no way you can re-position the speakers, would be good, but even better if they were more around the room..
No, because my workstation is fixed in an alcove in a corner, so any speakers elsewhere would be behind me, not practical, see Root's & Bahawolf's posts [five & six].
__________________

Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0