Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2009, 04:10 PM   #1
Beta Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default xbox live problem...help please??

when i get on xbox live to play ill be playing and all of a sudden it will disconnect for no reason..it happens like like 5 times a night. so about once every 1 or 2 hours...i have a wired connection..can someone help me please..tell me whats wrong
__________________

xXxEM3RYxXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 05:10 PM   #2
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: xbox live problem...help please??

Could be your internet connection... Try leaving your computer on, downloading a BIG file. Use internet explorer - it will stop the download if the connection get's broken. If it's not that, it could be your router, ethernet cable, your Xbox, or even the Xbox Live servers... Allthough that's unlikley.
__________________

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 05:10 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
tom-knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,451
Send a message via MSN to tom-knox
Default Re: xbox live problem...help please??

Your router may be giving internet access priority to your PC because it was there first. This would mean as soon as your PC performs any internet actions your router is d/cing your 360 to give the PC as many resources as possible.

Open your router control page and find MAC control, locate the MAC code assigned to your 360 and give that a higher priority for resources than your PC.
__________________
New laptop:
2.1 Ghz Core 2 Duo processor :: nVidia GT150m :: 15.6" HD LCD :: 4gb RAM :: 320gb HDD

New player: iPhone 4 32gb
tom-knox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 05:15 PM   #4
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: xbox live problem...help please??

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom-knox View Post
Your router may be giving internet access priority to your PC because it was there first. This would mean as soon as your PC performs any internet actions your router is d/cing your 360 to give the PC as many resources as possible.

Open your router control page and find MAC control, locate the MAC code assigned to your 360 and give that a higher priority for resources than your PC.
Do you think it would actually kick him off of XBL? Also, not all that many consumer-based routers have QoS (Or a rudamentry form of it). I'm not saying your wrong, though - I was reading some reviews about router that had that feature today!
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 05:20 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
tom-knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,451
Send a message via MSN to tom-knox
Default Re: xbox live problem...help please??

I speak from experience. My router (a bog standard Voyager 2091) was giving me this problem when i first set up my live connection. It would kick me as soon as someone opened IE or otherwise just every couple of hours anyway.
__________________
New laptop:
2.1 Ghz Core 2 Duo processor :: nVidia GT150m :: 15.6" HD LCD :: 4gb RAM :: 320gb HDD

New player: iPhone 4 32gb
tom-knox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 05:49 PM   #6
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: xbox live problem...help please??

Ah-ha. That's proberbly it then :d
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 12:07 AM   #7
In Runtime
 
Sinonymous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Sinonymous
Default Re: xbox live problem...help please??

Do you have phone line DSL? @ my old house I would get kicked when the phone rang. I had to have Wires replace in my house.

Does Halo 3 say 'NAT is not open'? If that is the case. Type 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 in your internet address bar and go to advanced settings, turn on DMZ Hosting and enter the IP address set on your Xbox (System settings, Networking Settings, Configure Network, and under IP Settings: Automatic should be your IP address.) Restart the router and you should be finished.

Hope this works for you.
__________________
Diglett get off that chair! You'll scare the neighbors because that doesn't make sense.
Sinonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 01:11 AM   #8
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: xbox live problem...help please??

Probably network problem. Check to see if your NAT is open
__________________

alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0