Writing business letters

tom-knox

Fully Optimized
I am a young web designer looking to build up a large portfolio of work for my business. I am going to enquire into building an e-commerce platform for a local game store (independent) and want to know what i should put in a letter to them?

Should i used headed paper?
Typed/Handwritten?
What should i tell them?

At the moment they're only e-commerce is done through eBay and i'd like to tell them they can ditch that and have a better, nicer looking, more efficient and commission less site set up with a dedicated domain and constant support.

Any suggestions?

Hey,

I've been there and done that before, so I thought I would give you a bit of advice as I was just browsing through the forums.

Just so you know, I used to be a coder and coded PHP / MySQL, I made around $500 in the first year I was doing, and I was only coding projects online. I was currently on stand by employment for the local web design company however they aren't the best company and always used damn Jmoola for their products, which never helped me get anywhere. As you said you want to do work in the real word, and not online which I think is good of you, as many people just do it freelance online.

I would reccomend headed paper yes. If I was you I would not use normal printer paper but the slightly thicker, creamish coloured paper becuase it immediately shows that you are interested in helping them the best you can. If you have a business logo, include that and your address, and a number and email address they can contact you on, this is a good start.

The letter should be typed not handwritten, although handwritten shows you have been to the effort to think about, there would be nothing worse than them not being able to read any part of your writing.