Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2008, 11:09 PM   #21
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: wow pwnage internet speed



My internet's slow.
__________________

__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 11:21 PM   #22
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: wow pwnage internet speed

mines slower
__________________

Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 05:50 PM   #23
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: wow pwnage internet speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steemax View Post
Ah ok but if it has the word "Proxy" written anywhere in the website.. it'll block it unfortunetly...
lol it does i think
__________________
amd athlon x2 4800+ 2.5ghz / 4gb ddr2 800mhz mushkin/ ZOTAC 8600gt 256mb / 320gb HDD 7200RPM / 250 watt psu
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 07:34 PM   #24
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: wow pwnage internet speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post


My internet's slow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudster816 View Post
mines slower
Better than mine. It's weird how my upload is so fast though, always been that way. Dialup too :/



BTW... I'm going to memorial university in a few years and their internet sucks too:
http://www.speedtest.net/global.php?...=96&city=20596
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 08:12 PM   #25
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: wow pwnage internet speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by borat_sagdiyev View Post
yea thats normal...your computer's ethernet supports upto 1 gigabit...

your connection is probably under 10 megabits
I thought it could only get up to 200Mbps. I running the dual Ethernet jacks, but it only gets to 200 megabits network speed, how does it support 1 gigabit? Anyway, I thought that was weird because it normally comes up with 200Mbps, but it came up as 1Gbps that time...

UTSA, the college I want to go to, doesn't get too bad of speed: http://www.speedtest.net/global.php?...on=38&city=245

Here's mine
Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 08:32 PM   #26
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: wow pwnage internet speed

My DSL equipment is 12 years old, this is a 6 meg sync. It's the highest sync rate without possibly causing severe problems on this equipment




Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesusfrk611 View Post
I thought it could only get up to 200Mbps. I running the dual Ethernet jacks, but it only gets to 200 megabits network speed, how does it support 1 gigabit? Anyway, I thought that was weird because it normally comes up with 200Mbps, but it came up as 1Gbps that time...
200Mbps isnt a sync speed, you'll never get that unless you have port teaming equipment. In a full FastEthernet duplex connection, you get 100Mbps downstream and 100Mbps upstream.

The reason why you only occasionally sync at 1Gbps is the wiring likely cannot properly handle gigabit speeds, theirfor it syncs at at 100mbps usually. In a lab that was setup with computers with gigabit NIC's and a gigabit switch and Cat6 cabling, only half the computers would sync at 1Gbps. I must add the wiring was very poorly done, running wires parallel to electrical conduits.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 11:03 PM   #27
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: wow pwnage internet speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS View Post
200Mbps isnt a sync speed, you'll never get that unless you have port teaming equipment. In a full FastEthernet duplex connection, you get 100Mbps downstream and 100Mbps upstream.
I am teaming ethernet jacks, iow dual ethernet...my mobo supports it. Which is why I get 200Mbps network speed on this system. I know my whole network isn't 200Mbps.
Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 11:06 PM   #28
In Runtime
 
Jakey Blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 466
Default Re: wow pwnage internet speed


mines ok i guess
__________________
New rig coming soon.
Jakey Blood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 11:12 PM   #29
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: wow pwnage internet speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesusfrk611 View Post
I am teaming ethernet jacks, iow dual ethernet...my mobo supports it. Which is why I get 200Mbps network speed on this system. I know my whole network isn't 200Mbps.
Shouldn't be able to get that speed without a switch that supports teaming, which isn't consumer crap. Post a pic of windows saying 200Mbps.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 11:13 PM   #30
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: wow pwnage internet speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesusfrk611 View Post
I am teaming ethernet jacks, iow dual ethernet...my mobo supports it. Which is why I get 200Mbps network speed on this system. I know my whole network isn't 200Mbps.
whats your internet speed that you get from your provider?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0