Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2007, 03:06 AM   #11
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: wow false advertising much??

Quote:
Originally Posted by borat_sagdiyev
look at this company advertising that a core 2 duo is 5.6 ghz...

http://www.mdg.ca/en/products/desktops/apton/



im calling em tomorow and telling them to change it
I would just ignore it, they probably wouldn't even answer it, now if they had sent it here to CF, that would be a different matter, it would be sent to the spam archive.
__________________

Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 03:46 AM   #12
BSOD
 
Jenox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,156
Default Re: wow false advertising much??

Quote:
Originally Posted by eapro
Dudes, I'm afraid you are all confused. This system uses dual-processors (NOT a single dual-core) processor. So therefore Jenox this system can process at 5.6GHz.

That's my guess anyway; I could be wrong.

No, it's still 2.8GHz per CPU. All multi-CPU does is increase computation, not the actual frequency. And that's what they're advertising, they're advertising a system that computes at 5.6Ghz, which is false, the system operates at 2.8GHz x 2 CPUs, which each have an independent frequency of 2.8GHz.

I think what they mean to say is flops, not gigahertz. Gigahertz is the frequency per CPU, however, with 2 CPUs, you double the flop rate, but not the actual frequency of the processors. Flop rate is how much data you compute per second. Example, 5Gflop/s, with two CPUs on a motherboard, you double the flop rate, but each processor still runs at 2.8GHz.

So they're wrong that it's 2.8GHz x 2 = 5.6Ghz. It should read something like...

5Gflop/s x 2 @ 2.8GHz = 10Gflop/s @ 2.8GHz.

Data computation is doubled, but frequency is not. Hope that makes sense for you.
__________________

Jenox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 12:34 PM   #13
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: wow false advertising much??

Quote:
Originally Posted by borat_sagdiyev
look at this company advertising that a core 2 duo is 5.6 ghz...

http://www.mdg.ca/en/products/desktops/apton/



im calling em tomorow and telling them to change it




Note the "EQL" - means equivelent, which technicially it is..
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 12:43 PM   #14
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: wow false advertising much??

i see that all the time , it is kinda decieving people who dont know what they are going on about but then if i didnt know what i was on about i would get someone to come with me to buy the computer
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 12:04 AM   #15
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: wow false advertising much??

You guys are wrong. Dual core CPUs and their speed CANNOT be combined. It's the CPU rule of thumbs. Don't ask why not. It's like that they are made. It's 2.8+2.8. It'll process at the same speeds, it just will do more than a regular CPU. A 5.6GHZ CPU can't be beaten by those. You need a higher FSB and matching clock ratios...and the luck to not melt the pins.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 12:14 AM   #16
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: wow false advertising much??

i called em today, and the guy was understanding, but he said that they know that you will not acheive 5.6 ghz for one task, and the reason they put it like that so computer retarded ppl can understand it better
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0