Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2009, 11:40 PM   #1
Daemon Poster
 
hemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,304
Default World of Warcraft question.

If i want to put WoW on another one of my computers but don't want to have to install it, can i copy my Wow folder from this comp, put it on a flash drive and put it on my other computer?
__________________

hemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 01:08 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: World of Warcraft question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hemp View Post
If i want to put WoW on another one of my computers but don't want to have to install it, can i copy my Wow folder from this comp, put it on a flash drive and put it on my other computer?
I doubt it. When you install a game, there are changes that happen to the registry and such, I believe. It's just the way it is.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 3.4GHz || GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3 || Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3-1600 || EVGA GeForce GTX 480 || Samsung EVO 256GB SSD
my feet get cold and that gives me diarrhea sometimes - Smart_Guy
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 01:10 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: World of Warcraft question.

I'm pretty sure installs are specific to the computer you install it on. Hardware probably playing the most important role.
__________________
=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 01:16 AM   #4
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: World of Warcraft question.

You can go to the WoW website on your other computer, sign in and proceed to download the game client anytime you wish. It is stored on your account along with all of the expansion packs that you have bought.

Simply download the client if you wish.
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 02:30 AM   #5
Baseband Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 100
Default Re: World of Warcraft question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelis View Post
You can go to the WoW website on your other computer, sign in and proceed to download the game client anytime you wish. It is stored on your account along with all of the expansion packs that you have bought.

Simply download the client if you wish.
so basically your saying, that i can use my friends account and login to the WoW web, download the client+use the expansions he has and make a new account and start playing without having to purchase the game?
Dangerouz123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 02:48 AM   #6
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: World of Warcraft question.

You can go directly to the WoW website and download the client for free: World of Warcraft Free Client Trial Download
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 02:49 AM   #7
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: World of Warcraft question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dangerouz123 View Post
so basically your saying, that i can use my friends account and login to the WoW web, download the client+use the expansions he has and make a new account and start playing without having to purchase the game?
Yup, but you can't create an account that will be playable without the CD keys. Thus, you will have to buy the games in order to have the CD keys.

Once you buy the game or any of the expansions, it "binds" to your account.
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 03:00 AM   #8
Baseband Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 100
Default Re: World of Warcraft question.

ahhh ok tnx
Dangerouz123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 03:14 AM   #9
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: World of Warcraft question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Rooster View Post
You can go directly to the WoW website and download the client for free: World of Warcraft Free Client Trial Download
The trial client streams a lot of the data from their servers over your internet connection. Results in quite a bit of lag. Better to download the full client.
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 03:17 AM   #10
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: World of Warcraft question.

No kidding? That's a drag.
__________________

Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0