Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2007, 03:29 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default World in conflict any good?

Just wondering if anybody has got this game. I was thinking about buying it today and its got some pretty good reviews.

I need a new good strategy game. I used to play Empire Earth2 quite a bit and i'm looking for a good replacement since that disc is scratched and won't install.
__________________

ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 05:51 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: World in conflict any good?

well i wouldnt realy go for a strategy game if i knew that i wouldnt be able to play multiplayer nicely.
__________________

__________________
amd athlon x2 4800+ 2.5ghz / 4gb ddr2 800mhz mushkin/ ZOTAC 8600gt 256mb / 320gb HDD 7200RPM / 250 watt psu
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 05:55 PM   #3
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: World in conflict any good?

if you like startegy get Company of Heroes, nice game, dont know if you would be able to do multiplayer however.
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 06:12 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: World in conflict any good?

Well I ended up getting it. I'm downloading the multiplayer updates right now. Hopefully it will be pretty good. Says you need cable/dsl or better to play online but so does Lost Planet so i'm hoping I get lucky. About 50 mins until thats updated. Havn't tried the game yet just getting it ready.

If anyone wants a 10 day demo there was one included with the game. It comes with a 10 day WIC trial key.
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 08:06 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: World in conflict any good?

I've got it, haven't played it much yet (still thrashing CoH Opposing Fronts)

It seemed OK from the first training mission, pretty much standard RTS fare by the looks of it.

Sooooo many games recently, sooooo little time. I've only just finished MoHA on hardest, still trying the new CoH maps, AoE III Asian Dynasties demo is out, still haven't finished GRAW that came with my 8800 GTS, lol, not enough hours in the day.
__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 09:23 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: World in conflict any good?

Quote:
Originally Posted by A True Folder View Post
I've got it, haven't played it much yet (still thrashing CoH Opposing Fronts)

It seemed OK from the first training mission, pretty much standard RTS fare by the looks of it.

Sooooo many games recently, sooooo little time. I've only just finished MoHA on hardest, still trying the new CoH maps, AoE III Asian Dynasties demo is out, still haven't finished GRAW that came with my 8800 GTS, lol, not enough hours in the day.
Sweet I just did the training missions and started a campaign. For some reason it locked up on me about 30 mins in. Not sure what happened there. May have been from something running in the background.

I didn't want to try a online game until I at least new what I was doing. If it works we should start a team!
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 09:27 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: World in conflict any good?

How is GRAW. It good? We got a copy too but I haven't installed it
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 10:14 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: World in conflict any good?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post
How is GRAW. It good? We got a copy too but I haven't installed it
Graws pretty fun Kage. I gotta pick up the patch to try online though.

Dude i'm so happy i've been playing online with no disconnects!!!! Freakin sweet although I had like no clue what I was doing. Although people were trying to explain it in game.

One question a bunch of them were talking through headsets. Whats a good headset to get? I wanna get one must be so much better then typing! I will say this game is pretty taxing in DX10. Explosions look freaking sweet though. Get it lets start a WIC Clan!
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 01:58 AM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: World in conflict any good?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post
How is GRAW. It good? We got a copy too but I haven't installed it
GRAW is not to bad to be honest, a bit too modernish for me (I'm a WWII freak) but interesting, with the amount of new releases and demo around at present I'm finding it hard to find time to play them all and get the basic controls/options/feel for them.

Plus at ~$A100 a game my wallet is taking a thrashing.

__________________

__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0