Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2007, 07:48 PM   #1
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default WOOPS :-( Lost

I cant bloody believe this . I made a real bad cock up the other day , i took my 120gb out of my comp and put it in my friends so i changed the jumper over to slave then when i put it back in my comp it didnt work so i thought it was screwed andut then when i was looking at it the other day i realised it was just the jumper stupid me so i could use it again . This also meant i couldnt get the gpu i was planning to buy . So now i have a 40gb ide setup as the master as the boot drive and then the 120gb for storage and am waiting for an ide controller to use the 60gb so anyway today i decided to parttion the 120gb into three partitions. And 80gb to store data , then a 20gb to use as my documents and the rest for music . About 12gb so i copies all the data on it , around 28gb to the 40gb then partition it then i copied it back and deleted it off the 40gb then i went to reajust the partition forgetting to put this data back on the 40gb so now all is lost dvd images for scary movie1,2,3 and some family guy . And my music which aint bad as i have a backup no my i pod but this realy pissed me off
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 07:57 PM   #2
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: WOOPS :-( Lost

that sucks...im never going to do anything fancy to my HDD again. just partition them and use them .

why did you put the HDD in your friends computer
__________________

Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 08:24 PM   #3
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: WOOPS :-( Lost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudster816 View Post
that sucks...im never going to do anything fancy to my HDD again. just partition them and use them .

why did you put the HDD in your friends computer
This was meant to be simple but i forgot to backup the data again oh well , i can always get them off my friend again

yeahi hate myself now cos there where a few dvd images i was waiting to go to the pc store so i get some dvd;s

and i put in there to get ,60gb dvd images off his comp and this was the quickest way , thats whyi have no dvd's left
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 08:26 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: WOOPS :-( Lost

Quote:
Originally Posted by muz View Post
This also meant i couldnt get the gpu i was planning to buy
Uh, why can't you get the GPU?
Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 08:31 PM   #5
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: WOOPS :-( Lost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesusfrk611 View Post
Uh, why can't you get the GPU?
NO JOB = Very limited supply of cash
and as i thought the hard drive had broke i had to get a hard drive as the system wouldnt function without a hard drive and the money i sppent on a hard drive was for my gpu so logically i got the hard drive . Then after i bought the replacement HD i realised the Orig 120gb hdd was actually fine
So my lesson is fully test components before deeming them dead
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 08:36 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: WOOPS :-( Lost

Maybe I didn't catch it in the original post, but I don't think it said you bought a new HDD, which is why I was confused where that came from.

I can spend 10 minutes sometimes trying to figure out various reasons why the PC won't power on, just to find out I forgot to plug it in... So, I've done stuff like that too, though I figured it out before I went out and bought something new for it.
Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 08:40 PM   #7
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: WOOPS :-( Lost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesusfrk611 View Post
Maybe I didn't catch it in the original post, but I don't think it said you bought a new HDD, which is why I was confused where that came from.

I can spend 10 minutes sometimes trying to figure out various reasons why the PC won't power on, just to find out I forgot to plug it in... So, I've done stuff like that too, though I figured it out before I went out and bought something new for it.
I spent an hour changing a psu over , didnt buy a new one had a spare . noly to find out the fuse in the plug had gone .
and yeah i am kinda pissed now i rushed the purchase of the 40gb
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 08:43 PM   #8
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: WOOPS :-( Lost

return it...
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 08:47 PM   #9
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: WOOPS :-( Lost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudster816 View Post
return it...
I as considering that but i bought it from ebay and i dunno i have installed everything on it know . Also the gpu aint a majour thing anymore as i plan an upgrade in the next month or so so it dosent make sense to get an agp gpu just to then get a pci-e 16x mobo
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 09:01 PM   #10
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: WOOPS :-( Lost

well that does make sense . just be patient. ive always lived on the low end forever and im finally getting a good gaming machine . dont worry your time will come...

how old are you muz? you have got to be pretty young to not have a job
__________________

Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0