Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 08:06 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

Quote:
Originally Posted by X1337
Server 2003 seams to be fast Also becuase 2003 server takes less ram!
Wrong!

Windows Server 2003 will take a good 116MB RAM.
Windows XP take a goo 58MB RAM
__________________

lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 08:08 PM   #12
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,008
Send a message via AIM to X1337 Send a message via MSN to X1337
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

Quote:
Originally Posted by joxley1990
Can you do a straight upgrade from XP home to Server 2003?

What more options do you have to play with?
You cant.. What I did is, the file was a rar not ISO, so I burned the files inside the RAR to the iso cd. Its not bootable but if you go to my computer and click on the windows server 2003 setup c.d. It will just copy the setup files and reboot and pick windows server 2003 on the OS list screen. Than it will load the setup files that takes 3 seconds. Than you just pick where you want server 2003 installed and there your done.


I didnt play it will alot of it but, I found the setuping up a network easyer than xp, using a server program runing faster
__________________

X1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 08:09 PM   #13
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

Right, might try it, im just buying it now. How easy is the setup..?
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 08:10 PM   #14
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,008
Send a message via AIM to X1337 Send a message via MSN to X1337
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhuser
Wrong!

Windows Server 2003 will take a good 116MB RAM.
Windows XP take a goo 58MB RAM


do you see 58MB? hmm no. It depends on the ram. Like if you have 128MB of ram than windows will take maby 60MB or less or even more

Quote:
Originally Posted by joxley1990
Right, might try it, im just buying it now. How easy is the setup..?
it went fast for me, but I have sata
X1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 08:15 PM   #15
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

No, I mean, is it the same as XP home?
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 08:19 PM   #16
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,008
Send a message via AIM to X1337 Send a message via MSN to X1337
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

Quote:
Things I like about 2003:

- Fast

- with just firewall, msn runing I have about 700MB+ of ram from 1GB

- Drivers installed fine, there was no confilt at all


Things I didnt like about 2003:


- Some programs think that server 2003 is NT, so when you try to setup it says please install NTSp6 to install this program. Im sure microsoft has some bypass for that or update

- 3dmark01 didnt work becuase it sayed that DX8 wasnt installed, even though I have 9.0c installed

I didnt update windows server 2003, like I didnt install SP1 or any other updates so these problems mit be fix if you update
Quote:
Originally Posted by joxley1990
No, I mean, is it the same as XP home?
Never tryed XP home, I dont know if its the same has XP pro
X1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 08:27 PM   #17
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

More or less, yeah.
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 08:45 PM   #18
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

Quote:
Originally Posted by X1337


do you see 58MB? hmm no. It depends on the ram. Like if you have 128MB of ram than windows will take maby 60MB or less or even more
Actually, the initial boot will take ~58mb. I tried it.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 08:46 PM   #19
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,008
Send a message via AIM to X1337 Send a message via MSN to X1337
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhuser
Actually, the initial boot will take ~58mb. I tried it.
proof?
__________________

X1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« Hello World! | ?? »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0