Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2007, 06:48 AM   #1
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default *Windows Home Server*

Thanks to Snoopy51 over at MCSEWorld for this.

At the 2007 Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Las Vegas this week (see my special report), Microsoft previewed its long-awaited Windows Home Server (WHS) product, a Windows Server 2003 R2-based server for consumers that dispenses with the complexities of most Windows Server versions and provides the core storage, sharing, and remote access functionality that digital media and home networking enthusiasts require. It's an innovative and exciting product, and I'm happy to finally be able to discuss it. Chances are, if you read this site regularly, you're going to want Windows Home Server.

Codenamed "Q" (and previously codenamed "Quattro"), Windows Home Server is designed to be almost diabolically simple, and after two and a half years of active development, Microsoft feels like it's arrived at an interface that is simple enough "even for mom" while being powerful enough for even the most jaded power user. The only downside to WHS, from what I can tell, is that there won't be a public beta. Instead, Microsoft will open up the product to an outside private beta test in late February and then ship it in late 2007. But if you can bear the wait, take heart: WHS will be available via both standalone software and pre-made servers. In short, it's all good news. Let's take a look.

http://www.winsupersite.com/reviews/whs_preview.asp

Whatever next!
__________________

Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 06:52 AM   #2
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: *Windows Home Server*

Oo, wicked. I just installed Datacenter on our server, I think i'll be sticking with that for a while though..
__________________

joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 06:54 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: *Windows Home Server*

Datacentre!! Bit much for a home network isnt it mate
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 07:02 AM   #4
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: *Windows Home Server*

Lol, long story!..

I originially tried 2003 Enterprise, but it would not let me create some permissions in AD, because it said I did not have correct permission, yet I was the administrator? So, I went onto 2000 Advanced.. which would not install, just stopped half way through and I got a blue screen.

So, there sat 2000 Datacentre.. installed it, works like a treat!




joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 07:03 AM   #5
In Runtime
 
eapro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 317
Default Re: *Windows Home Server*

eapro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 07:21 AM   #6
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: *Windows Home Server*

Quote:
Originally Posted by eapro
What's that for buddy?
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 11:52 AM   #7
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: *Windows Home Server*

Quote:
Originally Posted by joxley1990
Lol, long story!..

I originially tried 2003 Enterprise, but it would not let me create some permissions in AD, because it said I did not have correct permission, yet I was the administrator? So, I went onto 2000 Advanced.. which would not install, just stopped half way through and I got a blue screen.

So, there sat 2000 Datacentre.. installed it, works like a treat!

[/URL]
How fast is this server , and how many comps you got in your house
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:01 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: *Windows Home Server*

2.5Ghz P4, 2GB RAM, 2X250GB HDD's 5 computer's, three lappy's, used sometimes.
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:36 PM   #9
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: *Windows Home Server*

nnice what do you use it as a storage and a router/gateway or jjst storage
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:51 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: *Windows Home Server*

storage, website hosting, hopefully forum hosting soon, and an AD server..
__________________

joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0