Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2009, 03:09 AM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
Prodigy146's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,751
Send a message via AIM to Prodigy146 Send a message via MSN to Prodigy146 Send a message via Yahoo to Prodigy146
Default Windows 7

i cant believe no one here has commented about the new 7000 build. Have any of you tested it out yet? it really just seems like a service pack for vista but still the new toolbar and shit is amazing:




As you can see it doesnt look any different than vista but the toolbar makes everything easier to get to and once i installed it i had the latest drivers for all of my devices and my system has not crashed once yet.

i really think windows 7 will suprise tha shit outta everyone when the retail comes out


P.S i can pm you the registry key to get rid of the windows 7 watermark if you want it
__________________

__________________
[Proc: Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.6ghz] [Motherboard: Asus 870 M4A87TD EVO]
[GPU: Asus 5770 Crossfire] [PSU: Corsair 650 12v53a] [Cooler: Scythe Mugen 2]
[RAM: Patriot 4GB DDR3 1600] [Case: Antec 300 Illusion] [HDD: 2x WD 640GB Raid 0]
Prodigy146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 04:22 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,744
Default Re: Windows 7

It looks good, can't wait when it comes out. I'm just afraid of that some of my stuff won't work because I still got 1 or 2 DOS programs/games.

Hope it works!
__________________

StratosP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:00 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Windows 7

There is that DOSbox for running DOS apps. THats what came with Doom 1 and 2 from Steam.

I am currently downloading build 7000, but I won't make the switch to 7 until the retail comes out.
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:35 AM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
DefCon_!1!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,733
Send a message via AIM to DefCon_!1! Send a message via MSN to DefCon_!1!
Default Re: Windows 7

i would love to try it out

but this computer couldent handle vista at all.

hell, i have XP set on performance mode, just to speed it up

i miss my laptop
__________________
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4
i5 2500k 4.5ghz with H100 Cooling
2x 560ti @ 950mhz
DefCon_!1! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 09:15 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,744
Default Re: Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by superman22x View Post
There is that DOSbox for running DOS apps. THats what came with Doom 1 and 2 from Steam.

I am currently downloading build 7000, but I won't make the switch to 7 until the retail comes out.
DOSbox is too complicated for me. I just followed a page of instructios off another website to play my DOS game in XP. I installed sound software and applications that will alow the program to run in XP because it wouldn't work. I hope it works for Windows 7. Otherwise I'm gonna be pissed.

And I'm not going to switch untill it's retail like superman22x said.
StratosP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 09:57 AM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
drumthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,606
Send a message via AIM to drumthrasher Send a message via MSN to drumthrasher Send a message via Yahoo to drumthrasher
Default Re: Windows 7

Yeah, I've tried it.

Go to my site in my sig to watch some videos and see some more pics.
__________________
Gateway GT4016 Desktop | CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2.2GHz | RAM: 2GB (4x512MB) | HDD: 1x200GB, 1x120GB | Video: ATI HD Radeon 4850 512MB | OS: Vista Home Premium x86 SP1, Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.6
drumthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 07:05 PM   #7
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Windows 7

Hey,

The public BETA of Windows 7 is supposed to be posted on their site today (Friday), was just wondering if anyone knew what time?? It's Friday here already lol and i'm anxious!

http://news.cnet.com/8301-10805_3-10...orsPicksArea.0

Matt
Mattyl110792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 07:10 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
drumthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,606
Send a message via AIM to drumthrasher Send a message via MSN to drumthrasher Send a message via Yahoo to drumthrasher
Default Re: Windows 7

lol, Microsoft is in Washington (state, -6 time zone). So it will be up tomorrow.
__________________
Gateway GT4016 Desktop | CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2.2GHz | RAM: 2GB (4x512MB) | HDD: 1x200GB, 1x120GB | Video: ATI HD Radeon 4850 512MB | OS: Vista Home Premium x86 SP1, Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.6
drumthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 07:14 PM   #9
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Windows 7

Aww damn, spose it's ok cause I havn't got much bandwidth left on my connection till midnight tonight haha..

Can't wait to try it out though. Oh, and does anyone know if the BETA will have an expiry date and what it is?? It was like 6 months on Vista if I remember correctly.
Mattyl110792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 07:17 PM   #10
Daemon Poster
 
netBooger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 557
Send a message via AIM to netBooger Send a message via MSN to netBooger
Default Re: Windows 7

http://www.microsoft.com/en/au/default.aspx

Watch for it on your home site, I am sure they will have some sort of posting about it.
__________________

__________________
|| Cosmos 1000 || Asus Maximus Formula SE || Q6850 3.00GHz || Zalman 9700NT || BFG 8800GTX OC || 4GB Corsair Dominator 1066mhz || Enermax Galaxy 850W || Windows Vista Ultimate 64 || WD Raptor 150GB x2 + WD Caviar 350GB ||
netBooger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0