Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2008, 05:03 PM   #31
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Windows 7

How fast does it run? Faster then Vista? I'm hoping programs are fairly compatable with it. Does it still have the sidebar? Even though it is a massive slowdown on startup...
__________________

__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 05:06 PM   #32
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: Windows 7

yes everything I have tried so far works. Photoshop, windows live messenger, 7 zip, utorrent, frostwire. It even had my network cards all set up before windows was even finished installing and asked me what my default network was.

My games work too. Need for speed undercover, GTA san andreas, dawn of war,

it only uses 25% of memory with programs open too firefox, messenger , wmp
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 05:17 PM   #33
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Windows 7

Wow, that sounds pretty good. I can't wait for this to come out... How big is the download for it?
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 05:19 PM   #34
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: Windows 7

bout 3 gb
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 05:21 PM   #35
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: Windows 7

yeah bout a 3Gb download and dont be suspicous when you burn the ISO to disk it appears to have no contents??? there is some invisible file on there??

for me it does seem to run alot faster than vista cant comment on program compatibility just yet.

drivers really good as stated before suppors dual screen on default drivers.

sound was done / network was done all good
__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 05:24 PM   #36
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Windows 7

I really hope Sony Vegas works with it... I can't get it too work on Vista, lol.
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 05:42 PM   #37
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: Windows 7

well bad news then, what works with vista works with 7 so you prolly won't get that to work
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 08:04 PM   #38
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Windows 7

I have the 64 bit version for Vista, idk what I will do with the new one... 64 or 32 bit? I only have 4gb of Ram... and nothing is really 64 bit threaded yet.
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 04:08 AM   #39
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: Windows 7

go 32 bit.

i have 4Gb on a 32bit system fir a while and it showed 3.5Gb RAM now 2Gb to 3.5Gb is still a BIG jump and it makes a really big difference who cares bout th 512Mb.
__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 07:52 PM   #40
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee286 View Post
yes everything I have tried so far works. Photoshop, windows live messenger, 7 zip, utorrent, frostwire. It even had my network cards all set up before windows was even finished installing and asked me what my default network was.

My games work too. Need for speed undercover, GTA san andreas, dawn of war,

it only uses 25% of memory with programs open too firefox, messenger , wmp
does that mean superfetch is disabled in windows 7?
__________________

__________________
amd athlon x2 4800+ 2.5ghz / 4gb ddr2 800mhz mushkin/ ZOTAC 8600gt 256mb / 320gb HDD 7200RPM / 250 watt psu
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0