Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2015, 03:48 PM   #1
Beta Member
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 1
Default Will I have a job with an AAS in IT?

I'm currently planning on returning to college after a multi-year absence. I want to change my major to IT, since that seems to be what I'm good at.

However, I recently learned that, shortly after my previous withdrawal, Congress put in a new 6-year lifetime limit on Pell Grants ... and that this limit was to be applied retroactively.

I've already spent five semesters getting pell grants, which means I'm just one semester short of being able to complete my bachelor's degree (and only two of my classes will be able to transfer from my old major, so I won't be able to shave off an entire semester based purely on transfer credits).

As you can see from this link ...

Department of Computer and Information Science - Undergraduate Catalog - Arkansas Tech University

... the AAS in information technology (scroll down to the bottom) has me taking the exact same classes as a Bachelor's in IT (right above the AAS). I'm just taking the classes in a different order, is all (e.g. in the bachelor's cirriculum, business speaking is taken during Junior Fall semester, whereas it's taken in the Sophmore Spring semester during the AAS).

Would I be likely to get a job - maybe just an entry level "geek squad" computer repair at Best Buy, or some other similar position - with just an AAS? Maybe I could get my AAS, and leave open the possibility of continuing towards a bachelor's degree (possibly part-time, online).

acerthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 08:46 AM   #2
Daemon Poster
CrackerJacker's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 986
Send a message via Skype™ to CrackerJacker
Default Re: Will I have a job with an AAS in IT?

I'm sure you could.
Lancaster Geek Squad Cadet #1197 Lancaster Job - PA, 17573

USAF KC-135R Crew Chief
i7 2770 @ 3.4ghz, Geforce GTX 560 ti, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD 120gb, cup holder
I would imagine if you could understand Morse Code, a tap dancer would drive you crazy
CrackerJacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 07:52 PM   #3
In Runtime
TrotterTech's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 303
Default Re: Will I have a job with an AAS in IT?

I have an AA in IT. It and a buck-fiddy will get me a cup of coffee.
Antec 300 Illusion, Antec EarthWatts EA650, EVGA GTX 760, AMD FX 8320 x8, MSI 970A-G43, Sandisk 128GB,
Samsung 120GB, WD Black 750GB, WD Green 1TB, WD Red 3TB, G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB,
Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB, Win7 Ult 64-bit, Func MS3, CM Storm QuickFire Rapid
TrotterTech is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0