Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2008, 12:29 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
drumthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,606
Send a message via AIM to drumthrasher Send a message via MSN to drumthrasher Send a message via Yahoo to drumthrasher
Default Will This Help...

I could be getting joga's Athlon X2 4200+.

WILL THIS HELP MY SEVERE BOTTLENECK JUNK? It's not like I'm gonna be using AA or anything...I just want to get more than 10FPS on the stupid CoD:WAW game! I know my video card can spit out way more than that...

I found this nice article: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...k,2054-12.html
__________________

__________________
Gateway GT4016 Desktop | CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2.2GHz | RAM: 2GB (4x512MB) | HDD: 1x200GB, 1x120GB | Video: ATI HD Radeon 4850 512MB | OS: Vista Home Premium x86 SP1, Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.6
drumthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 03:28 PM   #2
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: Will This Help...

I can't hurt.

Make sure there are no programs running in the background. A good disk cleanup and defrag may help. Make sure your motherboard and video card drivers are up to date.
__________________

Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 03:31 PM   #3
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Will This Help...

The Athlon X2 4200+ you might be buying from me is the quickest 939 processor if I'm not mistaken.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 03:41 PM   #4
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: Will This Help...

I believe the AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ is a bit faster.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 06:09 PM   #5
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Will This Help...

people said Tomshardware review are BS.

My friend has the 5000+ and its bottlenecking his 8800GT. The 4850 is better than the 8800GT.
So i think you can put two and two together.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 06:10 PM   #6
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Will This Help...

My 4800+ X2 Is a MASSIVE bottleneck!

That 4200 x2 Will certainly help but it wont make it go away.
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 06:20 PM   #7
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: Will This Help...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
people said Tomshardware review are BS.

My friend has the 5000+ and its bottlenecking his 8800GT. The 4850 is better than the 8800GT.
So i think you can put two and two together.
How can the 5000+ be bottlenecking an 8800GT? I have two systems with the 5000+ and 8800GT and they run every game we have thrown at them perfectly.

Edit:
Oops! I just re-read my post. That should read X2 5000+. Sorry for any confusion.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 06:24 PM   #8
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Will This Help...

So an extra 100Mhz is enough to break my bottleneck? I have the GTS SC So maybe a 5200+ x2 would fix it.
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 06:47 PM   #9
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Will This Help...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Rooster View Post
I believe the AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ is a bit faster.
4800+ is also SKT939? I got misinformed then.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 08:38 PM   #10
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: Will This Help...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JogaBonito1502 View Post
4800+ is also SKT939? I got misinformed then.
Yup: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+

There was also the Opteron 185: AMD Dual-Core Opteron 185

Some of them Opty's were mad overclockers too.

__________________

Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0