Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2007, 10:36 PM   #11
Daemon Poster
 
NEED WOW NOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,315
Send a message via AIM to NEED WOW NOW
Default Re: Who is your ISP and what type of broadband technology are you using?

well i got Fios and its alsome
the highest i got on that speedtest site was 19573 kb/s down
and like 3000 kb/s up
[IMG][/IMG]
__________________

__________________
AMD is Happy!
Intel is Pissed!
Europe is $1.45 Billion Dollar's Richer!
NEED WOW NOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 10:39 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
ISOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,208
Default Re: Who is your ISP and what type of broadband technology are you using?

See, I just got cut off the Net just now for about 10 minutes. Now for some miraculous reason, I'm connected again. Ok, here's my connection finally. Look at how pathetic it is. Upload wise!!! Terrible.

__________________

__________________
*Fact: Microsoft Window's Blue Screen of Death vs Computerforums.org's White Screen of Death. Which is worse?
ISOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 10:41 PM   #13
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Who is your ISP and what type of broadband technology are you using?

ISOwner, you wouldn't happen to be on Road Runner Lite would you? That might explain the speed issues....
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 10:44 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Who is your ISP and what type of broadband technology are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by celegorm View Post
ISOwner, you wouldn't happen to be on Road Runner Lite would you? That might explain the speed issues....
Thats pretty much standard speed for older cable equipment.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 10:49 PM   #15
Daemon Poster
 
Ahyoka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,373
Default Re: Who is your ISP and what type of broadband technology are you using?

Here's mine.



Absoulutley HORRIBLE for gaming but awesome because it's the only (affordable) ISP that comes out here to the middle of frickin nowhere
Ahyoka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 11:03 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
ISOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,208
Default Re: Who is your ISP and what type of broadband technology are you using?

I'm not sure if that's what they call it, but for sure, it's not Road Runner Premium or Business. I don't know if there's a regular Road Runner or if Time Warner's calling it Road Runner Lite. But it seems my Internet speed is much slower than that from the way web sites are loading.

I also notice every night at around this time, the Net is ridiculously slow. I'll bet you anything someone is download some heavy stuff in my neigborhood all at one time. My roommates are probably online downloading off of a Torrent site and the other one is always playing Warcraft online in the evenings. He's always bugging me to get the game and play, lol. I hate the restrictions. Then when the network overloads or it peaks, then we get disconnected. Like right now, the blue dot is gone. I'm just playing the waiting game now to see when it will reconnect to submit this reply.............and watching "Office Space" and "Zoolander" at the same time. Funny movie, but so true on what goes on in the business world.

It's about time I finally got connected again!!!!!!!!!!!! I hate Time Warner. Oh, they replaced the modem three times, we replaced the wireless router one time, now, Time Warner gave us a wireless router/modem combo to replace everything and gave us a high speed wi-fi extender. Still, problem exist!!!!!

Terrible. I called Verizon to ask about their DSL service. They can't accept any more customers due to limits reached. FIOS is our only solution, but we have to wait for that.

Lol, did I do worse?!?!

__________________
*Fact: Microsoft Window's Blue Screen of Death vs Computerforums.org's White Screen of Death. Which is worse?
ISOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 01:08 AM   #17
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Who is your ISP and what type of broadband technology are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ISOwner View Post
See, I just got cut off the Net just now for about 10 minutes. Now for some miraculous reason, I'm connected again. Ok, here's my connection finally. Look at how pathetic it is. Upload wise!!! Terrible.



I have Verizon. I used to have Adelphia, but ever since TWC took over, it's been downhill since.
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 01:46 AM   #18
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: Who is your ISP and what type of broadband technology are you using?



Nothing amazing, but beats dial up hands down. Can play multiplayer games with it, my bro does all the time. I used to play mutiplayer Halo, it would only lag every now and then. I dunno why it says I have AT&T as an ISP though, I got it through the local telephone company... Connection gets slow during weekends sometimes, probably because everyone in the area is playing multiplayer or d/ling big files... Bit overpriced at $40ish/month I think it is, but it's the only thing out here that would be reliable, downtime is limited, whereas if I got a cheaper ISP, the downtime would probably be more.
Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 08:20 AM   #19
Fully Optimized
 
blackjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,945
Send a message via MSN to blackjack
Default Re: Who is your ISP and what type of broadband technology are you using?

I'm with Tiscali broadband and on there Tiscali Max package (8mb) I find them OK and the server is always on so I never have problems getting on line, They run the fair usage policy which means no downloading between 6PM -11PM but I don't mind to much as I don't download much, people slat them but I'm quite happy with it.
__________________
Compaq Presario CQ5305K-m Intel® Pentium® Dual Core E5300 (2.6 GHz), Windows® 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 2048 MB , Hard drive: 320 Gb, with 18.5 Widescreen
SPURS TILL I DIE (DIAMONDS ARE FOREVER SO ARE SPURS)
TO DARE IS TO DO
blackjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 09:35 AM   #20
Fully Optimized
 
Zer0Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,599
Default Re: Who is your ISP and what type of broadband technology are you using?

O ya guys, just FIY the speedtet.net might look cool and all, but its not accurate, not even close! Take my word 4 it.

go to if u want to have ur actual results.

http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

Il post my speed later when i get home

Cheers
__________________

__________________
- Asus P6T Deluxe v2 - Intel i7 920 @4Ghz 1.35v- Prolimatech HS - Cosmos S Case -
- ABS Tagan BZ Series BZ800 PSU
- ATI 5870 - G.SKILL 6GB DDR3 1600 - Razer Barracuda™ AC-1
- 120GB Crucial C300 SSD & 3X WD640AAKS HDD
- Dell 24" 2408WFP & 2407WFP-HC Monitor
Zer0Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0