Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2007, 11:33 PM   #41
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

Yeah, I only have 1GB of RAM and while it works fine, sometimes I get the feeling that it's being held back a bit. Eh, I'm not TOO concerned yet. We'll see what the future holds for Vista.
__________________

alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 11:35 PM   #42
BSOD
 
Jenox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,156
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvino
Yeah, I only have 1GB of RAM and while it works fine, sometimes I get the feeling that it's being held back a bit. Eh, I'm not TOO concerned yet. We'll see what the future holds for Vista.

Well it was designed for the future too. So maybe they packed it all in with DDR3 and maybe DDR4 in mind? IDK, but if they did then DDR3 and DDR4 had better be pretty good performers.

I'm just wondering what Microsoft put in the OS in mind for the future, surly a lot of new hardware is going to come out within the next 10 years that will make Vista rune as smooth as a baby's ass.
__________________

Jenox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 03:38 AM   #43
Golden Master
 
mark thorpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7,366
Send a message via MSN to mark thorpe Send a message via Yahoo to mark thorpe
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

haha, reading this thread is quite entertaining.. im sitting here running vista on 512 ram absolutley no problems.. 3GB minimum for it to run? rubbish.. if you needed that, i wouldnt be sitting here typing now..
__________________
'I may be drunk, Miss, but in the morning I will be sober and you will still be ugly.'

Winston Churchill, 11/30/1874 - 01/24/1965
mark thorpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 03:43 AM   #44
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

I'm probably not going to get Vista until DX10 games start to become more abundant.
__________________
=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 03:55 AM   #45
Golden Master
 
ISOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,208
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

I think the hype about being a resource hog is a bit exaggerating. I'm using 1GB, using an old Athlon 64 3500+ CPU (not dual core by the way), DX9 video card, and it runs great. Super fast and haven't had any significant problems. I'm glad that everything's running smoothly.......
__________________
*Fact: Microsoft Window's Blue Screen of Death vs Computerforums.org's White Screen of Death. Which is worse?
ISOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 04:10 AM   #46
Golden Master
 
mark thorpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7,366
Send a message via MSN to mark thorpe Send a message via Yahoo to mark thorpe
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRDCorolla
I think the hype about being a resource hog is a bit exaggerating. I'm using 1GB, using an old Athlon 64 3500+ CPU (not dual core by the way), DX9 video card, and it runs great. Super fast and haven't had any significant problems. I'm glad that everything's running smoothly.......
yeah, id agree with this, it runs perfectly fine on 512RAM on my puter, it doesnt freeze, doesnt crash, doesnt struggle to run programs...
__________________
'I may be drunk, Miss, but in the morning I will be sober and you will still be ugly.'

Winston Churchill, 11/30/1874 - 01/24/1965
mark thorpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 05:11 AM   #47
Daemon Poster
 
Anubis1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,308
Send a message via MSN to Anubis1980 Send a message via Yahoo to Anubis1980
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

Sorry, i meant USB HDD lol. Didn't want to wipe over my xp, incase Vista sucked.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 (1333fsb) 2.66 @3.5ghz |EVGA 680i SLI Mobo | 2GB Twin XMS ddr800 @ 875 | Leadtek 7950 GX2 Core@601 Mem@1600
500GB IBM/HITACHI Sata2 7200/16MB | 160GB 7200rpm 8mb UDMA133 Maxtor | XION 600w dual 12v 44A total SLI PSU | X-fi Xtreme Music | 22" Widescreen Acer LCD
Anubis1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 10:03 AM   #48
Daemon Poster
 
xtremezx2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 915
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

I'm running Vista Business that I got from work on our partnership program. I had ultimate for a while and I miss it now, but this is a lisenced copy and it was free I like it so far, everything is running very smooth and with the new forceware beta drivers the gaming has even gotten decent (I still switch back to xp to do most of my gaming though, thank god for dual booting.) all in all everyone who says, "oh you need a dual core and 10 gigs of ram" is full of it. my boss has business running on a laptop with a mobility x800 and 512mb of ram and it still runs smooth. vista reconizes how much ram you have and sets up or processes accordingly.
xtremezx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 11:42 AM   #49
The Candyman
 
~mr mixx~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,310
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

Quote:
Sorry, i meant USB HDD lol. Didn't want to wipe over my xp, incase Vista sucked.
if you wanted to test out vista, you can always buy another internal hhd..they are not that expensive, and if you don't like what Vista has to offer, you can use the drive as a slave drive.
__________________
" Let the music move you "
~mr mixx~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 11:52 AM   #50
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

Or install it on a different partition.
__________________

LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0