Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2007, 01:05 PM   #11
The Candyman
 
~mr mixx~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,310
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

Lucky, i won't have mine for awhile... i have to many other things i'm working on, then i'll dabble into it eventually.
__________________

__________________
" Let the music move you "
~mr mixx~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 01:07 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

@google guru. i just find the whole network thing more reliable. im sure you can connect to multiple networks aswell in vista which is quite useful. theres also many more settings you can change such as extra passwords, etc. oh in the network bit you can see the router your connected to and access it if you know the username and password. saves a bit of hassle. especially for the n00bs. theres just several little things which make it good. i still havent fully explored them all yet
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 01:07 PM   #13
Fully Optimized
 
^Mike^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,958
Send a message via ICQ to ^Mike^ Send a message via AIM to ^Mike^ Send a message via MSN to ^Mike^ Send a message via Yahoo to ^Mike^
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

I went to Office Max and was looking at it, but it wouldn't let me past the login screen lol. Not even using the "customer login"
^Mike^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 01:09 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_se
@google guru. i just find the whole network thing more reliable. im sure you can connect to multiple networks aswell in vista which is quite useful. theres also many more settings you can change such as extra passwords, etc. oh in the network bit you can see the router your connected to and access it if you know the username and password. saves a bit of hassle. especially for the n00bs. theres just several little things which make it good. i still havent fully explored them all yet
Lol, can't you just type in your router's IP address in an internet browser and access it that way?
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 01:15 PM   #15
BSOD
 
Jenox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,156
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

No point in upgrading to Vista. Besides, just to upgrade I need 3GBs of RAM, a dual-core CPU, and at least a DX10 video card, to fully use the OS as it was intended. So, about $500 dollars later, then buy the OS, $100 or so, you're looking at $600 just to get Vista. Definitely not going to upgrade. No sir.
Jenox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 01:39 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jenox
No point in upgrading to Vista. Besides, just to upgrade I need 3GBs of RAM, a dual-core CPU, and at least a DX10 video card, to fully use the OS as it was intended. So, about $500 dollars later, then buy the OS, $100 or so, you're looking at $600 just to get Vista. Definitely not going to upgrade. No sir.
Well said. But I'd say it could run pretty good without 3GB of RAM.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 01:42 PM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
Š88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,775
Send a message via MSN to Š88
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

too much of a resource hog. I am not having any trouble with XP so "why fix something if it ain't broken" so to speak?
__________________
Killing under the cloak of war is no different than murder

Kein Alkohol ist auch keine Lösung!
Š88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 01:51 PM   #18
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

To be telling you the truth, I made a hopefully complete migration to Linux now.

Windows is too shaky, but the best version I find better is XP. All the others have more cons, especially ME. 98 wasn't the best, but it was good. 95 was good, but lacks in new tech. 2000 is...slow, maybe because I don't have the good driver set.

Windows XP is the best out of them all, but Vista contains more features, but is too slow.

Linux is awful for booting time, but at least, I have a secure boot and it loads the rest. Vista "Adapts" to your machine, but is actually using the resource at first.


All those at Future shop, etc, saying that is' a powerful OS and all that and it's worth upgrading...they're just either enthusiastic for the most up to date system or they want your money.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 02:25 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhuser
To be telling you the truth, I made a hopefully complete migration to Linux now.

Windows is too shaky, but the best version I find better is XP. All the others have more cons, especially ME. 98 wasn't the best, but it was good. 95 was good, but lacks in new tech. 2000 is...slow, maybe because I don't have the good driver set.

Windows XP is the best out of them all, but Vista contains more features, but is too slow.

Linux is awful for booting time, but at least, I have a secure boot and it loads the rest. Vista "Adapts" to your machine, but is actually using the resource at first.


All those at Future shop, etc, saying that is' a powerful OS and all that and it's worth upgrading...they're just either enthusiastic for the most up to date system or they want your money.
Yeah. I've experienced the whole Future Shop thing.

I found Windows 2000 pretty good...while using it on friends' computers. I've only ran 95, 98 and XP on mine. I loved 98, but XP's features and whatnot (especially not having to find drivers for every USB thing you hook up) makes it my favorite too.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 02:45 PM   #20
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Who has Windows Vista already?

I'm using it, but for gaming stick with XP until Vista drivers improve.
__________________

alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0