Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2007, 07:01 PM   #21
88
Fully Optimized
 
88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,775
Send a message via MSN to 88
Default Re: Whats your internet speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudster816 View Post
*cough* dial up *cough*
well not exactly, let's just say my cable internet is sub-optimal.
__________________

__________________
Killing under the cloak of war is no different than murder

Kein Alkohol ist auch keine Lsung!
88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 07:03 PM   #22
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: Whats your internet speed?

hey, rudster, uploads on 3mbps are usually 768kbps. I have a 3mbps plan through Verizon, and I love it.
__________________

__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 07:05 PM   #23
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: Whats your internet speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88 View Post
well not exactly, let's just say my cable internet is sub-optimal.
i have never heard of a DSL\Cable plan that is lower than 128k, you know were talking about BITS and not bytes right...
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 07:07 PM   #24
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: Whats your internet speed?

This is in megabits, right? I have 10 Mbps down advertised.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 07:09 PM   #25
88
Fully Optimized
 
88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,775
Send a message via MSN to 88
Default Re: Whats your internet speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudster816 View Post
i have never heard of a DSL\Cable plan that is lower than 128k, you know were talking about BITS and not bytes right...
yeah you're right, I do technically have, what I believe to be, a 128Kb/s internet connection but the wiring in my house is shotty and it's being shared by 4 (soon to be 5) computers. So i basically get near 56K download speeds (just a little bit better)
__________________
Killing under the cloak of war is no different than murder

Kein Alkohol ist auch keine Lsung!
88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 07:10 PM   #26
Fully Optimized
 
CompMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,323
Send a message via AIM to CompMan
Default Re: Whats your internet speed?

__________________
|Intel Q6600@3.0ghz||ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA||2GiG Corsair XM2 DDR2 800||EvGa 8800GTS||36gig Western Digital Raptor 10,000 rpm||Ultra X2 connect 550W modular psu||Thermaltake Tsunami Case|Vista 64bit|
Windows has Blue screens, Mac has grey screens, and CF has White screens!!
2004 Mazda RX-8 GT Titanium Grey, Greddy Exhaust, AEM cold air intake
--objects in rearview get smaller with each shift--
CompMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 07:58 PM   #27
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Whats your internet speed?

I'm on 56k. There's no point in even trying a test. :/
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 08:03 PM   #28
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: Whats your internet speed?

see if you actually get 56k, im getting ripped off, i get 640/90 because we have an extra person that wasnt designed to be there
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 09:47 PM   #29
Fully Optimized
 
hascet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,218
Default Re: Whats your internet speed?

On dial up you will never actually get 56k, thats is optimal with everything perfect.

Also, the votes are messed up, like for the 10-30Mb/s one only 4 voted but it says 5, the total is messed up too.
hascet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 09:55 PM   #30
Daemon Poster
 
Steemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Steemax Send a message via MSN to Steemax Send a message via Yahoo to Steemax
Default Re: Whats your internet speed?

__________________

__________________
| Intel Core i7 4770K | Nvidia GTX 770OC | Samsung EVO 500GB SSD | Carbide 400R | Corsair Vengeance 16gb DDR3 | Corsair 750TXV2 PSU | Corsair Hydro 100i | Gigabyte Z87 Mobo |
Steemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0