Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2001, 11:17 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 3,390
Default Re: What is a good laptop that can handle Pro-Tools??

It doesn't have to be a Mac. The latest Pro Tools 8 is compatible for PC & Mac.

All your looking for is a laptop with XP Pro, 2GB RAM, Core 2 Duo Processor.

The main thing to look for is High Cache and FSB speeds. Cause a decent DAW can shift a hell of a lot of data around the motherboard components.

Whether its a PC laptop or Mac you need to spend 1000+
__________________

__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T410 - i7 620M - 8GB RAM - Crucial M4 120GB SSD - 250GB 2nd drive - Intel HD 3000 GPU - 1440x900 - Windows 7/8
REMENIZ Computers
Remeniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 10:12 PM   #2
BSOD
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default What is a good laptop that can handle Pro-Tools??

Can someone tell me what is a good laptop/Notebook that can handle Pro-Tools?? Im buliding be a portable studio. I do alot of traveling and my artist's will be using it to record there music. Thanks
__________________

NBA 2k9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 10:33 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: What is a good laptop that can handle Pro-Tools??

You could look at the MacBook Pro from Apple.
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 10:57 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: What is a good laptop that can handle Pro-Tools??

Pro Tools is Mac only, so your looking at either a macbook or macbook pro. Both will be suitable if they have maxed out ram.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 11:16 PM   #5
BSOD
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: What is a good laptop that can handle Pro-Tools??

Pro-Tools is for pc too. It says it on there website
NBA 2k9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 10:30 AM   #6
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: What is a good laptop that can handle Pro-Tools??

Go look at the system requirements for pro tools, then find a laptop with those specs. Mac is probably your best bet though so you're looking at big money right away.
__________________

__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0