Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2007, 10:00 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default What Crysis drivers are you using?

Okay i've finally got the game downloaded and i'm wondering which drivers everyone is having the best luck with and the OS your using them with? Should I go with the XP or Vista install? I know everyone has been saying how crazy demanding the game is so I don't want to bother downloading Vista drivers if DX10 bogs it way down with say medium/high settings.
__________________

ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 10:11 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: What Crysis drivers are you using?

My friend is running at 1076x768 I think thats the res, I mix the numbers up a lot, but anyway, he can run it with almost everything on high, with an 8600gt. He is using vista x64 with the latest beta drivers. Fairly smooth. 30fps or so I think.

Oh, and otherwise, his system is the same as mine, just not overclocked, so the processor is at 1.86ghz, and the ram is only 667.
__________________

__________________
Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them. - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 10:36 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: What Crysis drivers are you using?

I got choppy sound in Windowed mode, but the game is playable. Maximized, it isn't. Too choppy. I think the CPU or onboard sound is at fault. My 8500GT is running it great.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 12:45 AM   #4
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: What Crysis drivers are you using?

just install it in both, its not that much room, is it? i only have 2gb left out of my 150gb data partition , ill ask for a SATA drive for X-Mas, but im also asking for a monitor, so i doubt ill get both.

anyways, i messed up my download, takes 6 hours to download it again, and i cant try to download it again until tonight.

but i DO have vista 32 bit now. i "got" it and it came preactivated havent booted back into xp ever since i got it working. i havent had a single problem with it, took me a while to find a vista sound driver though, biostar's download was all messed up.

if i get it tonight ill install it on both XP and Vista and post up benches via fraps, unless it has a time demo.

i have UT3 though, and in DX10 and i can easily max it out at 1024x768, hush, i know i have a tiny monitor. 15" to be exact, but im running 2 15" CRT's know, awesome, but they barely fit on my desk. ive seen the frames dip down to 25 before, but thats because im playing with bots, which eats up tons of cpu time with the AI. in CSS i go from 140-240 FPS with out bots to 40-80 with like 12 bots.
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 05:31 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: What Crysis drivers are you using?

Okay you'll have to post up your results and compare. I did install it on a older driver in XP. I played 1280X1024 with high settings. It was pretty playable but did get choppy at points. I didn't use fraps or anything so i'm not sure the fps. I may do the command console trick or run a real time bench. I'm going to download both XP and Vista drivers today and see were I get.

As for the time demo's look in the following. FYI for 64bit people you can replace to bin64 for the 64bit versions. The time demo consits of 4 runs each run giving you minimum FPS average and maximum. I'll post up some results later today.

C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis SP Demo\Bin32
This will give you detailed info on GPU and CPU.
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 06:13 AM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: What Crysis drivers are you using?

hmm people reported taht beta drivers really improved their perormance
__________________
amd athlon x2 4800+ 2.5ghz / 4gb ddr2 800mhz mushkin/ ZOTAC 8600gt 256mb / 320gb HDD 7200RPM / 250 watt psu
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 07:53 AM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: What Crysis drivers are you using?

Well I got a few results while eating so heres what i've come up with so far. All settings taken using the Crysis Time demo's within the games batch files. CPU was overclocked to 3525mhz however I ran the tests with my 8800 at stock on Vistas 163.69 WHQL driver in 64bit mode.

There are 2 Time demo's one is CPU and one is the GPU. I'll post up my results at 1280X1024 for the time being.

CPU Time Demo 1280X1024 All settings high 0XAA
Run 0 Min 10.53 Max 30.77 Avg 19.75
Run 1 Min 10.53 Max 30.77 Avg 20.23
Run 2 Min 10.53 Max 30.77 Avg 20.16
Run 3 Min 10.53 Max 30.77 Avg 20.37

CPU Time Demo 1280X1024 All settings Medium 0XAA
Run 0 Min 25.79 Max 53.74 Avg 37.83
Run 1 Min 25.79 Max 55.36 Avg 41.09
Run 2 Min 24.45 Max 56.19 Avg 41.33
Run 3 Min 24.45 Max 56.19 Avg 41.04

I'd have to say i'm satisfied with the 1280X1024 results at medium settings. I'm content with the FPS i'm getting on average there with all high detail its playable but i'm not one to play at the low of a fps.

Here are the GPU time demos.

GPU Time Demo 1280X1024 All settings high 0XAA
Run 0 Min 9.59 Max 25.25 Avg 18.46
Run 1 Min 7.32 Max 25.25 Avg 16.96
Run 2 Min 7.13 Max 17.22 Avg 17.22
Run 3 Min 7.13 Max 17.23 Avg 17.23

GPU Time demo 1280X1024 All settings Medium 0XAA
Run 0 Min 22.63 Max 50.27 Avg 38.53
Run 1 Min 22.63 Max 51.48 Avg 40.62
Run 2 Min 21.96 Max 51.48 Avg 40.43
Run 3 Min 21.96 Max 51.48 Avg 40.34

Again all settings on medium give me a great playable game. I may be able to turn some settings over to high I don't want to see anything below 20FPS and would like to keep the average around 35FPS roughly.

I'll post up some other setting configurations later and possibly some XP results as rudster said he will put some of his results up as well. Time to play
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 09:00 AM   #8
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: What Crysis drivers are you using?

So basically, with my 8800GTS 640MB, and e6600 @3.6 there is no way it will be playable on my 1680x1050?
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 09:04 AM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: What Crysis drivers are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelis View Post
So basically, with my 8800GTS 640MB, and e6600 @3.6 there is no way it will be playable on my 1680x1050?
Umm let me run a test and i'll report back. I'm going to run it on medium though cause you won't get it at high. Unless you want to play in single digits lol!

The game is freaking sweet from what i've played. I'm at the camp and got my ass kicked a few times so far. Gotta get the controls down i'm trying out the 360 controller with it now. Trust me though medium still looks really good!
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 09:06 AM   #10
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: What Crysis drivers are you using?

Ok, as long as the FPS stay above 30 it is playable right?
__________________

Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0