Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2009, 02:34 AM   #1
Daemon Poster
 
Fanatic4Christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,351
Default well i got Conficker....

my freakin computer wont even turn on... its wont even boot up it wont allow me to do updates when it would boot up nor would it let me do a system restore in safe mode.... this is so messed up... how can i get rid of it without having to whipe my hd... i have a bunch of stuff on it that i need...... stuff i cant get back... anyone?
__________________

__________________
Jesus died for me and you.
AMD Athlon II 250 3.6ghz | ASRock N68C-S | Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3850 PCI-E 512MB | SteelSeries Siberia USB Soundcard | Western Digital 250GB | LOGISYS 575watt PSU | Crucial 2GB ram DDR3
Fanatic4Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 03:48 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
cavemangrinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,540
Default Re: well i got Conficker....

Wow, thats sucks man. How did you get infected? You may wanna browse through this thread for more info http://www.computerforums.org/showthread.php?t=83845

I'd recommend trying to remove the infection with an arsenal of applications. I dont know if theres a particular one just for Conficker but if you can, download and run: Malwarebytes, AVG, Spybot, Ad Aware, etc...
__________________

cavemangrinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 03:56 AM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
Fanatic4Christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,351
Default Re: well i got Conficker....

im almost 100% positive that the reason i got it was when i started worrying about it like o crud!!! so i dl'd that program someone posted on there it scans ure computer and right after i did that fake spyware program pops up... run the scanner again and then it tell's me to restart my computer and install latest updates... DO NOT RESTART URE COMP om wow when i restarted it it just froze while loading up the programs... just got stuck on the desktop... tryed it again, got ctrl alt del up and then it just froze on there.... started safe mode tryed to restore it... wouldent allow me to... tried to start in safe mode with networking or whatever it is and thats what did it... it just froze and then now it wont boot... like i turn it on and all's i hear is the fans and thats all no beep no post nothing... black screen... there's no way i could of got infected by emails cuz i hardly use my email and theres no way by visiting a random site because i have like 20 sites that ill go to and thats about it...
__________________
Jesus died for me and you.
AMD Athlon II 250 3.6ghz | ASRock N68C-S | Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3850 PCI-E 512MB | SteelSeries Siberia USB Soundcard | Western Digital 250GB | LOGISYS 575watt PSU | Crucial 2GB ram DDR3
Fanatic4Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:06 AM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
cavemangrinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,540
Default Re: well i got Conficker....

what link was it? I think it would be a good idea to let others know about it before they run into the same problem.

Here is a (safe) link with a removal tool that may help, along with the other programs I already mentioned:
http://www.symantec.com/security_res...011316-0247-99
cavemangrinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 12:28 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: well i got Conficker....

Try the stinger from this page. The page is likely blocked by conflicker, so you'll need to download and burn to CD or something. Conficker spreads many ways, with the most common taking advantage of windows exploits. Having an unupdated computer attached to a public network or having improper security on shares are the likely methods it attacked you.
http://mcafee.com/us/threat_center/conficker.html
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 12:37 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: well i got Conficker....

didn't you have antivirus or can this thing get around av undetected?

Judging by the computer powering up but nothing happening the thing might have flashed your bios.
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 12:50 PM   #7
In Runtime
 
Daeva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to Daeva Send a message via MSN to Daeva Send a message via Yahoo to Daeva
Default Re: well i got Conficker....

If you do have to reformat, you can always boot from another hard-drive and copy all of your data (making sure to clean it first!!!) from the dead drive to the booted drive, then do a re-format of the dead drive.
__________________
**Official Self-proclaimed glorified excessive (insert additional adjectives here) post editor/modifier.
Edit = Best feature ever
http://www.twitter.com/xDaevax
Daeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:10 PM   #8
Daemon Poster
 
Fanatic4Christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,351
Default Re: well i got Conficker....

Quote:
Originally Posted by cavemangrinder View Post
what link was it? I think it would be a good idea to let others know about it before they run into the same problem.

Here is a (safe) link with a removal tool that may help, along with the other programs I already mentioned:
http://www.symantec.com/security_res...011316-0247-99
thats actually the one i tried in the first place! my computer is up and im on it now it did do something to my bios and when i started my computer it said CMOS checksum error - something something

F1 to continue

but over night i took out the mobo bat and unplugged it and that fixed the not booting problem...

mcafee doesnt work.. i dl'd the thing and it dident find anything yet all my anti virus programs are disabled and microsoft.com is blocked off... i cant get to it

my iolo antivirus is finding something it already found something called w32/Backdoor.BVEB and is trying to quarantine it but i dont think its going to happen lol...

microsoft isent blocked off totally and i dled the microsoft windows malicious software removal tool
__________________
Jesus died for me and you.
AMD Athlon II 250 3.6ghz | ASRock N68C-S | Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3850 PCI-E 512MB | SteelSeries Siberia USB Soundcard | Western Digital 250GB | LOGISYS 575watt PSU | Crucial 2GB ram DDR3
Fanatic4Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 04:25 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
cavemangrinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,540
Default Re: well i got Conficker....

Wow, thats weird. That link is directly from yahoos website. Anyway, be sure to run the programs in safe mode, if you havent already.
cavemangrinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 06:02 PM   #10
In Runtime
 
airsoftkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to airsoftkid
Default Re: well i got Conficker....

Fanatic, something I have done quite often...is boot from a Linux live disk...

That way I can get all my trash I need, and then format it. Or get the virus off.
I like Linux Backtrack a lot, but one of the other ones are Ubuntu, its really good
__________________

airsoftkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0