Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2007, 03:43 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default weird.

Other Thoughts: Upp'ed it to 2GB total with a $30 1GB Corsair stick from Newegg. Since the laptop only comes with 1 DIMM in use, this was really easy to do.
__________________

spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 03:46 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: weird.

im confused. whys it wierd. im guessing you upgraded your laptop from 1gb to 2gb which was easy to do. surely thats a good thing? ...
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 03:57 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: weird.

how do u get 2gb if u buy an extra 1 gb stick? there is only one slot. this isnt mine. its newegg.
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 01:36 AM   #4
BSOD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7,539
Send a message via AIM to Trivium Nate
Default Re: weird.

I'm confused as to whats being asked here?
Trivium Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:37 AM   #5
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: weird.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trivium Nate View Post
I'm confused as to whats being asked here?
me too dude. things wernt made much clearer after my first post
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:39 AM   #6
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: weird.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spywarebanisher View Post
how do u get 2gb if u buy an extra 1 gb stick? there is only one slot. this isnt mine. its newegg.
maybe there is sanother slot witha 1gb dimm in and adding another 1gb makes 2gb
i think you are reffering to that laptop where a buyer claimed it only had one dimm slot
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 07:17 AM   #7
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: weird.

uh.. well if it's DDR2.. you could buy a 2gb stick..
MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 07:34 AM   #8
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,153
Send a message via MSN to DannyBoy
Default Re: weird.

I think everyones confused, but good on you mate.
DannyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 08:04 AM   #9
The Candyman
 
~mr mixx~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,310
Default Re: weird.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spywarebanisher View Post
Other Thoughts: Upp'ed it to 2GB total with a $30 1GB Corsair stick from Newegg. Since the laptop only comes with 1 DIMM in use, this was really easy to do.

$30 bucks for a 1GB stick of ram, that sounds really cheap for ram. I may stock up on them if their that cheap... :P

-edit-

also if you know how to tweak your computer, you won't need an extra ram stick. I thought most mother boards come with at least two ram slots.
__________________
" Let the music move you "
~mr mixx~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 08:48 AM   #10
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: weird.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePower View Post
I think everyones confused, but good on you mate.
yeah
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0