Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2007, 08:52 AM   #41
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_se View Post
i just installed vista lite on my laptop after the success on my desktop. the fact that the power options dont work for s**t and the toshiba power saver doesnt wanna work means the battery life isnt too good which is a big problem. apart from that its ok. i like this much better than the normal vista
Wheres that from mate, any links? I might have to check it out.
__________________

Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 08:57 AM   #42
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz View Post
Wheres that from mate, any links? I might have to check it out.
PM sent
it is running on my laptop
intel pent M 512mb ram and a 8.5gb partition for it and it runs well , obviously my ram is a bit limited so if i open like 3-4 progs it will start lagging but i have ie 7 with about 5 tabs and wmp player open and all is fine
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 10:59 AM   #43
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

Vista Lite runs with no problems. I think I've figured the source of lock ups...the AGP controller drivers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS View Post
Ubuntu has no problem on multiple processor systems
Good to hear! I might give it a go. I'll probably stick to Vista lite, as it is a little better for software inventory, but Ubuntu might replace it with a hit. It just depends on how it works with Cedega.

But it's good to hear that.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 12:57 PM   #44
Fully Optimized
 
drumthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,606
Send a message via AIM to drumthrasher Send a message via MSN to drumthrasher Send a message via Yahoo to drumthrasher
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

wow people are actually starting to like Vista!
__________________
Gateway GT4016 Desktop | CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2.2GHz | RAM: 2GB (4x512MB) | HDD: 1x200GB, 1x120GB | Video: ATI HD Radeon 4850 512MB | OS: Vista Home Premium x86 SP1, Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.6
drumthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 01:04 PM   #45
Fully Optimized
 
troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,410
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz View Post
Hmmm, thats certainly true for XP mate, but vista can support 8gb of RAM, and a wopping 32 GB for 64bit. Now most people arent gonna need that but if your like me and run loads of virtual machines etc then its not overkill.
I've got 32bit vista and my PC's mobo supports 4GB RAM, does that mean I could upgrade to 3 or 4GB RAM and not have stability issues as I would in XP?
__________________

__________________
Desktop: Dell Dimension E510, 2.5GB RAM, Intel P4 3.0GHZ, 250GB HDD, Windows Vista Premium. Might not be the best, but the old girl is still running good.
troy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0