Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2007, 11:46 AM   #31
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

Vista will take a little time to get actually fully working. The drivers are still written at that stage and so is newer software. That's the same way like Windows XP went.
__________________

lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 11:47 AM   #32
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

I'll run vista when i get my new desktop with 4 gig of ram
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 11:48 AM   #33
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

I think I'll eventually run Vista with the tweaks when I get the new system. That or I might stick with Ubuntu if it does support Dual core well.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 11:56 AM   #34
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhuser View Post
I think I'll eventually run Vista with the tweaks when I get the new system. That or I might stick with Ubuntu if it does support Dual core well.
Ubuntu has no problem on multiple processor systems
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 01:31 AM   #35
BSOD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7,539
Send a message via AIM to Trivium Nate
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

ive got vista on my new computer 1GB ram and Dual core really make things fly and run smooth haven't really been having any problems or incompatibility issues either
Trivium Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:38 AM   #36
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS View Post
Ubuntu has no problem on multiple processor systems
yep i have it on my c2d. i dont use it much though but i must say that it runs pretty damn fast with no problems what so ever
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 08:14 AM   #37
The Candyman
 
~mr mixx~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,310
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS View Post
I'll run vista when i get my new desktop with 4 gig of ram
Please don't take this the wrong way, but from what i have heard the 4gig of ram is over kill. 2gig is suffice enough for multitasking and gaming.

Although I know more sounds better, but when it comes to ram.. getting into the 3 to 5gig range is way too much, when their are CPU's now that make up for the lack of ram.

-edit-

As far as Vista goes, I can't wait to try it out..
__________________
" Let the music move you "
~mr mixx~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 08:48 AM   #38
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

Hmmm, thats certainly true for XP mate, but vista can support 8gb of RAM, and a wopping 32 GB for 64bit. Now most people arent gonna need that but if your like me and run loads of virtual machines etc then its not overkill.
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 08:49 AM   #39
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

i just installed vista lite on my laptop after the success on my desktop. the fact that the power options dont work for s**t and the toshiba power saver doesnt wanna work means the battery life isnt too good which is a big problem. apart from that its ok. i like this much better than the normal vista
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 08:51 AM   #40
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: vista isnt bad actually

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_se View Post
i just installed vista lite on my laptop after the success on my desktop. the fact that the power options dont work for s**t and the toshiba power saver doesnt wanna work means the battery life isnt too good which is a big problem. apart from that its ok. i like this much better than the normal vista
i installed on my laptop last night and i cant get my packard bell power think to work , it keps saying the battery is empty and needs recharging which is getting kind of annoying
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0