Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2007, 10:08 AM   #21
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: Vista available in UK

I have it, I stopped the counter, so I'm not bothered
__________________

lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 10:12 AM   #22
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlasseyeUK
Many companies have sold OEM versions, the loophole that they use is that you can sell it with a piece of hardware, for example hard drive etc, however they often overlook that when you actually purchase it.

I remember buying MCE OEM and I had to buy the remote control pack with it, that qualified as a piece of hardware.
Yeah my distributer gives you a shiny new case fan with OEM windows purchases.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 10:44 AM   #23
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS
Yeah my distributer gives you a shiny new case fan with OEM windows purchases.
most places i have seen xp oem sold give away a free mouse or with mce free remote pack
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 08:26 PM   #24
Daemon Poster
 
♂ăR┼▀▀ «'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 839
Send a message via AIM to ♂ăR┼▀▀ « Send a message via MSN to ♂ăR┼▀▀ « Send a message via Yahoo to ♂ăR┼▀▀ «
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Natalya
OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) versions can not be sold without being pre installed on a new machine.

It is written in the EULA (End User Licence Agreement). If you order those copies, you will have purchased those copies in breach of the licence agreement. And if you install it.... meh.....

OEM software also can not be transferred from one computer to another.

The only copies of software from Microsoft that can be sold WITHOUT being pre installed on a machine are RETAIL (FPP Fully Packaged Products). They cost more because you can transfer them from one machine to another. And this is also written in the EULA.

Umm..sure..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16832116215
__________________
www.cheek2pillow.com -My Short Films.
♂ăR┼▀▀ « is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 09:31 PM   #25
Daemon Poster
 
Natalya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: Vista available in UK

LOL, well you dont have to believe me, i only work for the company and have to know the licencing inside out.... Read your EULA. OEM software can not be sold without a new PC and to all those companies that are doing it, even if it is a huge corporation, are selling the OEM software incorecctly to you all.
__________________
IBM - Idiots Become Managers
Natalya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 10:04 PM   #26
Daemon Poster
 
♂ăR┼▀▀ «'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 839
Send a message via AIM to ♂ăR┼▀▀ « Send a message via MSN to ♂ăR┼▀▀ « Send a message via Yahoo to ♂ăR┼▀▀ «
Default Re: Vista available in UK

So there is not penalty for all of this?
__________________
www.cheek2pillow.com -My Short Films.
♂ăR┼▀▀ « is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 10:27 PM   #27
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Natalya
LOL, well you dont have to believe me, i only work for the company and have to know the licencing inside out.... Read your EULA. OEM software can not be sold without a new PC and to all those companies that are doing it, even if it is a huge corporation, are selling the OEM software incorecctly to you all.
That's true. We're aware of this. Our Daewoo PC was having a 98 disc say "For distribution with a new PC only."
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 04:46 PM   #28
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Vista available in UK

so anyone else got vista yet?
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 05:35 PM   #29
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Natalya
OEM is not allowed to be sold to the public like that. STUPID RESELLERS WHO DONT DO THEIR JOB PROPERLLY CAUSE ALL THIS CRAP.

What MS is saying is, Buy a new computer and we will give you the software at a discounted price PRE INSTALLED aka OEM, OR, Buy the software on its own but pay a little more.
I find it completely unjustifiable that I would have to pay more just because I happen to like building my own computers.. MS tries to justify this by calling the OEM version a "discounted" copy.. my ass. they just want to get more money from people who don't rely on brand PCs.

which is exactly why I willl probably stick to linux and XP, and the eventual cracked copy of vista.

When I bought my copy of XP, it was OEM from a local shop. They would only let me buy it with new hardware... which in this case was a laser mouse.

Of coarse, others say this is bad bad bad... ok.. so I should go buy the 'upgrade' version of windows they say... uh huh.. whats this? I need a 98se or ME cd that I happen to NOT own whatsoever? Nice, Microsoft, real nice. Ever wonder why some people despise you? Didn't think so.

(i'm not directing that last paragraph to you natalya, sorry if it seems that way heh)
MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 05:58 PM   #30
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeReiner
Of coarse, others say this is bad bad bad... ok.. so I should go buy the 'upgrade' version of windows they say... uh huh.. whats this? I need a 98se or ME cd that I happen to NOT own whatsoever? Nice, Microsoft, real nice. Ever wonder why some people despise you? Didn't think so.
Im confused by this, you can upgrade XP to vista
__________________

Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0