Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2007, 02:27 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Vista available in UK

Been looking around and you can get vista ultimate for 130 and its in stock now here. Just in case you cant wait lol
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/produc...id=33&catid=20
__________________

Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 02:52 PM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Not gonna touch for at least another 6 months, at least till the first major patches are released
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 03:24 PM   #3
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlasseyeUK
Not gonna touch for at least another 6 months, at least till the first major patches are released
maybe wait until the first service pack is out , i am planning on building a rig to handle vista as i dont have one yet
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 03:45 PM   #4
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Vista available in UK

So retails are 32 AND 64 bit?
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 04:03 PM   #5
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Lindon
So retails are 32 AND 64 bit?
think they are including 64 and 32 bit on the same disk and it just detects your hardware type and installs whicheveris necasery
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 04:06 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Lindon
So retails are 32 AND 64 bit?
OEM version, you buy one or the other, but the MS version has both editions on and is double the price!
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 04:15 AM   #7
Daemon Poster
 
Natalya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: Vista available in UK

OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) versions can not be sold without being pre installed on a new machine.

It is written in the EULA (End User Licence Agreement). If you order those copies, you will have purchased those copies in breach of the licence agreement. And if you install it.... meh.....

OEM software also can not be transferred from one computer to another.

The only copies of software from Microsoft that can be sold WITHOUT being pre installed on a machine are RETAIL (FPP Fully Packaged Products). They cost more because you can transfer them from one machine to another. And this is also written in the EULA.
__________________
IBM - Idiots Become Managers
Natalya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 04:24 AM   #8
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Natalya
OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) versions can not be sold without being pre installed on a new machine.

It is written in the EULA (End User Licence Agreement). If you order those copies, you will have purchased those copies in breach of the licence agreement. And if you install it.... meh.....

OEM software also can not be transferred from one computer to another.

The only copies of software from Microsoft that can be sold WITHOUT being pre installed on a machine are RETAIL (FPP Fully Packaged Products). They cost more because you can transfer them from one machine to another. And this is also written in the EULA.
I was under the impression that if you built your own machine, then it was perfectly within your rights to purchase and OEM version and it WAS legal to install it.

I was aware that they weren't transferrable to other computers, but I still think that this is a rediculous notion and really unenforcable, or have they now changed the registration process to prevent this?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 05:25 AM   #9
Daemon Poster
 
Natalya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Written on the top left hand side of any OEM CD it states "For distribution with a new PC only."
It is rather self explanitory.

This is taken out of the EULA.

Quote:
* Software as a Component of the Computer - Transfer. THIS
LICENSE MAY NOT BE SHARED,
TRANSFERRED TO OR USED CONCURRENTLY
ON DIFFERENT COMPUTERS. The SOFTWARE
is licensed with the HARDWARE as a single integrated
product and may only be used with the HARDWARE. If the
SOFTWARE is not accompanied by new HARDWARE, you may
not use the SOFTWARE.
You may permanently transfer all
of your rights under this EULA only as part of a
permanent sale or transfer of the HARDWARE, provided
you retain no copies, if you transfer all of the SOFTWARE
(including all component parts, the media and printed
materials, any upgrades, this EULA and the Certificate
of Authenticity), and the recipient agrees to the terms
of this EULA. If the SOFTWARE is an upgrade, any
transfer must also include all prior versions of the
SOFTWARE.
__________________
IBM - Idiots Become Managers
Natalya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 05:29 AM   #10
Daemon Poster
 
Natalya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: Vista available in UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlasseyeUK
I was under the impression that if you built your own machine, then it was perfectly within your rights to purchase and OEM version and it WAS legal to install it.

I was aware that they weren't transferrable to other computers, but I still think that this is a rediculous notion and really unenforcable, or have they now changed the registration process to prevent this?
Also, OEM is targetted at people who wont change Hardware and what not in their machines. OEM software it bound to the hardware/mainly motherboard. If you have OEM software and you change the Hardware in your machine as part of a voluntary upgrade because say you want more speed then your software becomes void. But if you motherboard for example was faulty you could change it.

If you are the type of user who changes hardware often, OEM is not for you. If you can afford new Hardware, and custom built machines, you can afford a RETAIL FPP copy of Windows.

Sorry about the double post.
__________________

__________________
IBM - Idiots Become Managers
Natalya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0