Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2007, 12:46 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
Zer0Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,599
Question Verizon FIOS-TV (to be, or not to be)

Hello guys

Now that my current contract with Dish Network is gone, I am thinking of moving to Verizon FIOS-TV. They are fairly new to the TV business, but they are up to a great start, I think.

Does anyone have there service? What do you guys think about it?

My 3 choices were the following:
Dish Network (current)
Direct TV
Verizon FIOS-TV

Verizon is offering something that no other companies do; you can watch your recorded movies/shows on 3 TV’s at the same time. I also have 2 other services from Verizon, I have phone service and internet service, so if I would to get the TV, I think they will give me a discount.
I also will be keeping the “Dist Network” only because they offer some International channels that Verizon don’t have. Does anyone know how exactly this works? Having 2 TV providers? I mean would I need to have 2 Antennas to be plugged in to the TV? Or will I be able to tune from one box to another with just one antenna? I only have 1 HDD TV in my house, and it has 2 antenna inputs in the back other 3 TV’s all have one.
So what are your thoughts on all this?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
- Asus P6T Deluxe v2 - Intel i7 920 @4Ghz 1.35v- Prolimatech HS - Cosmos S Case -
- ABS Tagan BZ Series BZ800 PSU
- ATI 5870 - G.SKILL 6GB DDR3 1600 - Razer Barracuda™ AC-1
- 120GB Crucial C300 SSD & 3X WD640AAKS HDD
- Dell 24" 2408WFP & 2407WFP-HC Monitor
Zer0Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 12:47 PM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
Istonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,469
Send a message via AIM to Istonian Send a message via MSN to Istonian
Default Re: Verizon FIOS-TV (to be, or not to be)

I would do it. What could you lose. Verizon is a very great and esteemed company.
__________________

__________________
Linux > Windows
Istonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 12:55 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
Zer0Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,599
Default Re: Verizon FIOS-TV (to be, or not to be)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Istonian View Post
I would do it. What could you lose. Verizon is a very great and esteemed company.

Well I know that Dish Network offers 100H of recoding and Verizon only 85H, I also heard something about when Verizons DVD's get more then 75% full there play back option sometimes malfunctions. I mean as far as I know all this 3 companies offer almost the same amount of channels right? Because I probably be getting the full movie package from Verizon. Good thing about Verizon, its not a dish, so the picture will not go bad when there is a storm and I actually had this happen to me a few times.
__________________
- Asus P6T Deluxe v2 - Intel i7 920 @4Ghz 1.35v- Prolimatech HS - Cosmos S Case -
- ABS Tagan BZ Series BZ800 PSU
- ATI 5870 - G.SKILL 6GB DDR3 1600 - Razer Barracuda™ AC-1
- 120GB Crucial C300 SSD & 3X WD640AAKS HDD
- Dell 24" 2408WFP & 2407WFP-HC Monitor
Zer0Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 01:06 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: Verizon FIOS-TV (to be, or not to be)

I'd only get it if you were getting FiOS internet, and you wanted a single package for TV and internet.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 02:09 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
Zer0Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,599
Default Re: Verizon FIOS-TV (to be, or not to be)

I currently have Verizon Phone, & Internet, so like i sad in the first post, If i would to get the TV, they could offer me a discount.

Bad new is, about 10 min ago I have called the Customer service, wanting to get the pricing info, and they told me that the tv is not et available in my area, I was like NO!!!!!!!!!!! I was sure that the TV serive was available, coz having internet & phone, but they sad no...I dunno what to do now...maybe i will.
__________________
- Asus P6T Deluxe v2 - Intel i7 920 @4Ghz 1.35v- Prolimatech HS - Cosmos S Case -
- ABS Tagan BZ Series BZ800 PSU
- ATI 5870 - G.SKILL 6GB DDR3 1600 - Razer Barracuda™ AC-1
- 120GB Crucial C300 SSD & 3X WD640AAKS HDD
- Dell 24" 2408WFP & 2407WFP-HC Monitor
Zer0Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 09:23 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: Verizon FIOS-TV (to be, or not to be)

At least you have the internet. I really want to get FiOS, but with our issues with Verizon, it won't be happening soon. My parents weren't happy with them billing us for stuff we didn't ask for and not being able to get a refund.
__________________
=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 09:25 PM   #7
Daemon Poster
 
Istonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,469
Send a message via AIM to Istonian Send a message via MSN to Istonian
Default Re: Verizon FIOS-TV (to be, or not to be)

Meh, we don't have FiOS in our area. We have everything except FiOS.
__________________

__________________
Linux > Windows
Istonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0