USB LED's ?

if you link 3 3V led's in series it will require 9V to operate and unlike bulbs led's dont light until the voltage across them was at a certain point

If you have them one after another i.e. in Series, the first one takes some current to work, then the other takes some more current but less is available because oif the first and so on...

You could have done it like this:

parallel.jpg

Which is putting them in Parallel to each other, where they all get the same amount of current :)

This is a good site for calculating the resistor you need for series or parallel LED's.

at the moment you have done this
led1.jpg

yer wire them up like this and it will work fine
led3.jpg

right i think i get it how bout resistors ?

i really have no idea where to place them in a circuit how many or n e thing at all treat me as a complete noob is there any pages you have that could guide me, i just use 3V batteries with 3V LEDs lol simple

If the battery (or batteries) are 3v, and the LED's 3v, you wont need a resistor :)

If you need a resistor, then this is how you would connected them (imagine red/black lines)

Picture

An LED has one leg slightly longer than the other, the longer leg is the + side, the shorter led the - side. The wires go from the + of the battery, to the resistor (but only if its more than 3v from the battery) and then from the other side of the resistor, the wires go to the longest leg of each LED, and then the wires go from the other leg of the LED to the - of the battery...