Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2006, 03:23 AM   #11
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Urgent, Very Urgent!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlasseyeUK
There is a strong possibility that this could be a rogue dialler, which is when you have installed something from the internet, and it then changes your dial up settings. This is often a premium number, and can lead to very expensive phone bills.

British Telecom have clamped down on about a 1000 of these companies, more information can be found here

Rogue dialer information

I hope this helps but I just wanted you to be aware of the risk of very high phone bills.
My dial-up is a fixed monthly rate, & cannot cost more, I never buy items/services on the i/net, so nobody has my credit card number, but thanks for your concern!, whereabouts are you in the UK?, I'm on the Isle of Wight,send me a PM, with your locality, if you like. [you don't have to of course]

Maurice
__________________

Brookfield is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 09:16 AM   #12
Golden Master
 
G35x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,474
Default Re: Urgent, Very Urgent!!

WAT 2mb??? MY 1.4 mb sets me back 37 a month verizon dsl...Philyyy broad suks ass
__________________

__________________
Check out my car forum..
altimacoupes.com

what is up vanilla face
G35x is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 01:54 PM   #13
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: Urgent, Very Urgent!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maurice
My dial-up is a fixed monthly rate, & cannot cost more, I never buy items/services on the i/net, so nobody has my credit card number, but thanks for your concern!, whereabouts are you in the UK?, I'm on the Isle of Wight,send me a PM, with your locality, if you like. [you don't have to of course]

Maurice

With rogue dialers you don't need to buy things of the net, it happens when you access webpages and they have activex controls, it then changes surrepticiously the phone number in your setup to a premium rate number which dials through tiawan or something stupid, it may not be the case, what alerted me to this is the fact that you mentioned the association with the GB dialer, this is one of the dialers that it does. I would check the number that your current connection is dialing and make sure it is still the same number that it used to do before. If so then no worries and GB dialer should be able to be removed using an appropriate spyware/malware remover.

If you google GB dialer you will see some of the concerns. I have had a friend who was hit by the dialer and it cost him a pretty penny.

I am in Manchester, never been to the Isle of Wright......but heard its meant to be pretty top notch there.
GlasseyeUK is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 02:55 PM   #14
Daemon Poster
 
reece296's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 593
Send a message via MSN to reece296 Send a message via Yahoo to reece296
Default Re: Urgent, Very Urgent!!

Download Microsoft Anti-spyware from www.microsoft.com/uk on the homepage there is a link to download it. Note you need a geniune copy of windows.
reece296 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 02:59 AM   #15
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Urgent, Very Urgent!!

I have a techie coming today, [Thurs] to see to my dialler problem, he says that if, as I am doing, I click on to an email quickly before the rogue dialler comes up, I woon't incur high phone charges, [I am on dial-up, as I've said] another techie says I will. opinions welcomed on this.

Thanks, Maurice
Brookfield is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 03:08 AM   #16
Golden Master
 
ArrizX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,073
Send a message via MSN to ArrizX
Default Re: Urgent, Very Urgent!!

Well, if its giving you a problem, then it is times to change to Dsl. You have said before, you dont need it. But really it is nice to have. And if this is giving you a problem. Then hell, why not change over?
__________________
. ()()()()
./l ,[_\_\ ],
l---L ()lllllll()-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
ArrizX is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 03:20 AM   #17
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Urgent, Very Urgent!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArrizX_MuziK
Well, if its giving you a problem, then it is times to change to Dsl. You have said before, you dont need it. But really it is nice to have. And if this is giving you a problem. Then hell, why not change over?

Dial-Up is like a hotel. If there's a problem, you can move out.
DSL is like your home. It stays with you. It's like leaving your backdoor open if you don't have the tools you need to protect your computer.

They are finding ways to use dialers on a DSL connection.


And, Dialers usually dial out at startup, or when you're going on the net. Usually, if the dialer has problems, Windows will pop up some message, telling you that this program want's access to the net, etc. For now, I suggest you get some spyware programs, and run a full scan of your computer. Leave it on for a while, and remove any infections. Also, if you want, you can run a HJT log, which will scan your computer, and show any problems. These logs are hand read. Take them to a forum, PM me for any suggestions.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 03:24 AM   #18
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Urgent, Very Urgent!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlasseyeUK
With rogue dialers you don't need to buy things of the net, it happens when you access webpages and they have activex controls, it then changes surrepticiously the phone number in your setup to a premium rate number which dials through tiawan or something stupid, it may not be the case, what alerted me to this is the fact that you mentioned the association with the GB dialer, this is one of the dialers that it does. I would check the number that your current connection is dialing and make sure it is still the same number that it used to do before. If so then no worries and GB dialer should be able to be removed using an appropriate spyware/malware remover.

If you google GB dialer you will see some of the concerns. I have had a friend who was hit by the dialer and it cost him a pretty penny.

I am in Manchester, never been to the Isle of Wight......but heard its meant to be pretty top notch there.
On the island, there are several very wealthy areas, pop stars, have second homes here, & high-ranking naval officers, tend to retire here, I live in a small village, out of the "rich" areas, but even here, I live 50 yards from a 1000,000 manor, where a world reknowned artist lives, some of his paintings selling for 10,000, but I love it here for the beautiful countryside, I am 10 minutes drive from Newport, a market town, some buildings dating back to the 16th century, I was born in Portsmouth, just across the water, moved over here with my late wife in 1969, pay us a visit, I think you'd like it, if you do, pay me a visit, you'd be welcome!, PM me, & tell me what it's like around you, I have friends from your area, & they say there are very pretty areas just outside your great city.
As to high phone charges, see my reply to root.

Regards, Maurice
Brookfield is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 03:52 AM   #19
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Urgent, Very Urgent!!

Had a techie in, fixed now, it was a a rogue dialler, while here, he said he thought my HD was on it's way out, by sounds he heard, he explained it to me in layman terms as more clicking than is usual, my computer was built nine months ago, I'd appreciate comments on this, but boy am I glad to be back!!

Maurice
Brookfield is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 06:53 AM   #20
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Thumbs up Re: Urgent, Very Urgent!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlasseyeUK
There is a strong possibility that this could be a rogue dialler, which is when you have installed something from the internet, and it then changes your dial up settings. This is often a premium number, and can lead to very expensive phone bills.

British Telecom have clamped down on about a 1000 of these companies, more information can be found here

Rogue dialer information

I hope this helps but I just wanted you to be aware of the risk of very high phone bills.
Thanks for your concern about phone bills, luckily I've had my phone bill covering that period & there' "only" 20 high rate bills, yes, you were right, it was a rogue dialler, I had a local techie in, he got rid;- 30, a costly lesson to be careful!, are techies expensive where you live, where are you, by the way? PM me if you like
__________________

Brookfield is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0