Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2008, 07:28 AM   #1
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Unlocking a k800i

Has anyone here done it before?

I'm attempting it now.

I've made the quick access patch, and it's currently flashing the firmware & filesystem, and is writing the quick access patch..

I will apply the unlock patch if all goes well.

Wish me luck

OK, I've flashed it and thats working. I will do the unlock patch now
__________________

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 08:06 AM   #2
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Unlocking a k800i

done the k750/w800. its quite easy and theres a lot of custom stuff you can add. kinda beats nokia in that respect.
glad its working
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 08:23 AM   #3
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Unlocking a k800i

Pfft.

It works with my orange sim (the original network), but when I put my Vofafone sim in, it says "Insert SIM"

Any idea?
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 09:24 AM   #4
xxcobraxx
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England
Posts: 6,224
Default Re: Unlocking a k800i

Yer, the K800i has some sort of security barrier that I heard.

I heard it's hard but if you have the equipment then head over to digital forums as their are phone experts:

1:Full & permanent unlock - still quite dear if unlocked via server.
2: Flash patch unlock - the cheaper of the 2 options. However if the handset is flashed again it will be locked back to the original network.

You also have the option of the network codes too, these are anything around the 15 - 20 range and you need to contact the original network for these.

However, you dont need to unlock the handset if you are going from Voda contract to Voda PAYG. Only if you wish to use another network will it need unlocking.
__________________
Liveleaker
IAntDemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 09:51 AM   #5
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Unlocking a k800i

not sure, but this post on se-nse is a good place to look, or just browse the site.
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 10:07 AM   #6
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Unlocking a k800i

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antdemo View Post
Yer, the K800i has some sort of security barrier that I heard.

I heard it's hard but if you have the equipment then head over to digital forums as their are phone experts:

1:Full & permanent unlock - still quite dear if unlocked via server.
2: Flash patch unlock - the cheaper of the 2 options. However if the handset is flashed again it will be locked back to the original network.

You also have the option of the network codes too, these are anything around the 15 - 20 range and you need to contact the original network for these.

However, you dont need to unlock the handset if you are going from Voda contract to Voda PAYG. Only if you wish to use another network will it need unlocking.
I've done quite a bit of research. You need to be able to bypass the DB2020 security shizz, which I've done. It WAS an orange phone, and I am on Vofafone contract.

You flash the phone with a generic firmware, and then patch that firmware to unlock it.

Thanks

j03
__________________

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0