Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2008, 04:28 AM   #31
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

Ok,

1.You need to find the .inf and .sys files for your wireless card,they may or may not be hard to find.

2.http://seogadget.co.uk/the-ubuntu-installation-guide/

3.No,but there are PLENTY of guides on the internet on how to use it,or PM me if you want the name of the GUI i use,the gui is self explanatory.

4.Aslong as you have an nvidia or an ATI card,they are simple to get once in ubuntu,all you do is download the packages through the package manager (Similar to window's Add/remove progams).

5. No.
__________________

__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 06:54 AM   #32
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

It's not easy to get it to do dual monitors the way that Windows Does!

Im download 8.10 now. I will seed for a while...

(note to self: check out why router isn't performing as well as the older one)

Right now, Im downloading at 400KB/s, and it's telling me I have 30 mins to go. I should be able to download at 800, which would half the time.

I guess it could just be the torrent - but normally Ubuntu torrents max out my connection (i suppose it being a new release doesn't help)

edit: Im touching on 700KB/s now. More like it!
__________________

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 12:55 PM   #33
Fully Optimized
 
UK31337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,776
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

I'm in Windows right now because I'm doing coursework in Visual Studio but Intrepid Ibex is the first Linux distro I've ever run on this laptop that actually supports my wireless card at all. Even older Ubuntus wouldn't work even after ndiswrapper was used.

Me very impressed.
__________________
Master of common sense. If you don't like it, stop reading.
UK31337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 01:41 PM   #34
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

I used the last version of Ubuntu for a while, loved it, but it didn't work with my laptop's dial-up modem, which I need to use at times when I'm away from broadband availability so I went back to Windows.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 12:36 PM   #35
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

so i installed Ubuntu (Clean Install/Reformatted), and i have 2 partitions. Every time i try to get in my "Back-Up" partition, it asks me for to authenticate the username and password. Which i dont really have.
How do i access it?
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 01:06 PM   #36
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by J03 View Post
It's not easy to get it to do dual monitors the way that Windows Does!

Im download 8.10 now. I will seed for a while...

(note to self: check out why router isn't performing as well as the older one)

Right now, Im downloading at 400KB/s, and it's telling me I have 30 mins to go. I should be able to download at 800, which would half the time.

I guess it could just be the torrent - but normally Ubuntu torrents max out my connection (i suppose it being a new release doesn't help)

edit: Im touching on 700KB/s now. More like it!
Lucky... I barely get over 30kb/s most of the time... Most likely the torrents I use though.

I have never used Ubuntu myself, but we did put it on my cousins computer that we built out of two junked computers. I never really got to use it much, but next time I go over there, I will have to play around with it a bit.
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 05:12 PM   #37
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

im having problems installing Ubuntu with the Windows Installer Thing.
When i boot up Ubuntu, i get some error saying something boot, and go to partition thing to change it.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 05:24 PM   #38
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

Wubi? I used that and it went flawlessly. Does it come up with a timer? Mine does, and if you wait it'll proceed to boot into Ubuntu.
__________________
=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 05:27 PM   #39
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

Wubi is pretty good!
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 12:07 AM   #40
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cabbs View Post
Wubi? I used that and it went flawlessly. Does it come up with a timer? Mine does, and if you wait it'll proceed to boot into Ubuntu.
huh?
i used the disc, because i dont really want to redownload Ubuntu through Wubi.
I let it install, and after about 30 min or so (did not time), it asks me to restart, so i restarted and booted into Ubuntu, which then ended up saying doing some partitioning thing.
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0