Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2008, 09:30 AM   #21
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

Hmm then mine must have been a bad burn because my 8.04 CD would never read my NTFS drives.

I need to try to repartition my drives on my laptop for this. But once it's booted (the live CD boot takes forever still) it is a really fast OS.
__________________

__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 09:38 AM   #22
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 810
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by celegorm View Post
Hmm then mine must have been a bad burn because my 8.04 CD would never read my NTFS drives.

I need to try to repartition my drives on my laptop for this. But once it's booted (the live CD boot takes forever still) it is a really fast OS.
My 8.04 would read NTFS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
I have a question about Ubuntu. I never used it before, and im thinking or reformatting my laptop.
So i was wondering if this will work with my laptop, I.E. drivers, programs such as Microsoft Office, Itunes, Azureus, etc.
I never had a problem with ubuntu and drivers. Everything worked correctly right from start.
__________________

__________________
MSI K9N2GM-FIH motherboard AMD Phenom Agena 9600(2) Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB PC2 6400 Thermaltake 430W PSU
160GB Segate Barracuda HDD 19" Wide Screen Hanns-G
Raidmax Tornado ATX Case OS- Gentoo
Toshiba A135 -Vista Pentium Dual Core 1.6 ghz. 1.5gb ram
www.localtechnet.net - Support me, click the ads!!
Austinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 11:55 AM   #23
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

got 8.10 installed and everything works except wireless. That means no internet in ubuntu for me
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 11:57 AM   #24
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee286 View Post
got 8.10 installed and everything works except wireless. That means no internet in ubuntu for me
one main reason i didn't go to it. that was my problem too...
and what good is a computer without internet??...
__________________
Desktop - DualBoot: Fedora 15/Windows 7 64bit
Netbook - Windows 7 Professional

www.Cyber-Talk.ca League of Legends and Gaming Community
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 05:00 PM   #25
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neodude112320 View Post
Well as far as drivers go,ubuntu will most likely wont need them except for your Graphics card and Wifi card.
can i use the Windows Drivers? or do i have to look elsewhere?
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 05:11 PM   #26
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

I'm having a weird issue now. The Xfire plugin for Pidgin that I have works, but AIM doesn't.
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 05:11 PM   #27
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

Yeah,You can get a program called Ndiswrapper which allows you to use your Windows Wifi Driver.Also if you dont want to install it via command line you can get a GUI for it .
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 06:06 PM   #28
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

I have tried several times to install ndiswrapper but can't seem to get it to work
I just wish companies would release drivers for linux.

edit: Wireless works fine on my laptop without going through ndiswrapper but the wireless on my desktop still doesn't work. Can't even find a windows driver to use with ndiswrapper.
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 01:47 AM   #29
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

Just go to the manufacturers website and download the drivers from there,then you need to located the .inf file.
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 01:58 AM   #30
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Ubuntu 8.10

im going to back up my system and install Ubuntu 8.10.

but before i do,
1. what do i do after i get the drivers from my laptops manufactures website?
2. can someone give me a step by step instructions?
3. is Ndiswrapper self explanatory for the wifi?
4. and what about my graphics driver?
5. I dont need my chipset drivers?
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0