Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2007, 07:50 AM   #1
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default TV I bought

This is the TV I bought from Currys yesterday. I haven't got it yet, as its arriving Saturday, but I'm really feeling low about the whole thing now...

http://www.currys.co.uk/martprd/stor...&category_oid=

Its pretty expensive as you can see, and is a 720p screen.
It is a really impressive picture though, and I cannot fault that, yet I didn't test it with consoles, and only with what they had in the store. I also did not check a 1080p signal with the 720p signal of this TV.

Did I make a bad decision in getting a 720p, with for example the 360 and PS3 I have?

I've looked up so many reviews about the difference when it comes to running the resolution natively on a set, to run that amount of pixels, and how without looking at another set, you won't notice, and even with a set there, its minimal at sitting distance.

Haha, my mate made me feel like this. He went into Curry's last night, as he was going to buy a TV too, and paid 699. Thats 100 less than me, and picked up a 1080p 37 inch (same screen size as me too) TV, thats got great reviews too, on a sale there. That made me think... oh.... 1080p....damn...

Have I made the wrong decision based on your experiences with HD sets set to run natively remember (this would make a difference) at 1024x720, and 1920x1080?

I'd end up paying an extra 400 though for 1080p approx with a Phillips or LG, or whatever, but if it was really worth it, I would have gone for it, and maybe its not too late to cancel the agreement...
I'll see anyway as my mate is bringing his set back today, and he has a PS3 also...
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 08:48 AM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: TV I bought

With those sort of purchases you always have a cooling off period, so I would just inform them that you have changed your mind. I think the cooling off period is about 14 days.

I personally would try and purchase the 1080p, as opposed to the 780 but thats just me, I don't have any experience of them with the 360 or playstation though.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 11:51 AM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
Jason8284's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 535
Default Re: TV I bought

1080p all the way, I want to get one soon, right now i have 1080i
__________________
(My Computer) Antec900 Case, E8400 OC'd @ 3.83GHz, TuniqTower 120, 4GB 6400 DDR2 850MHz (Corsair XMS2), EVGA 9800GTX Superclocked 770/2300, 620W Corsair PSU, x2 WD500GB RAID 0, WD250GB, EVGA 680i SLI Mobo, Vista Home Premium 64Bit
Jason8284 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 12:26 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: TV I bought

Hmm...

Weird thing is, there were TV's around the same price supporting 1080p as I found out today (My 720p Plasma screen though looked the best running the source through component that the rest were, out of them all)

There are a few issues though I've realised though from my mates I saw today:

Some games don't support 1080p and so go to 720p, which on a 1080p screen doesn't look very good (seen it first hand)

Standard TV services which I'll be connected to, also look stretched on a 1080p picture (seen it first hand), but shouldn't so much on a 720p, as we aren't going to move to HD broadcasting for a while.

I'll see on Saturday anyway, as I believe after some thought, 720p should be okay, and since its a screen natively at 720p, and not a higher screen running at a lower res, it should look quite good after all
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 01:45 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,581
Default Re: TV I bought

why buy from currys? why dont you go to richer sounds or something (if they sell plasmas, i know they do LCDs)

EDIT: they have a 42" with 1080p for the same price:

http://www.richersounds.com/showprod...NA-TH42PX70PED
__________________
Core i7 2600K Sandybridge + Prolimatech Megahalems Cooler ₪ Asus P8P67 DELUXE ₪ G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB DDR3 1600MHz ₪ Crossfire 5870's ₪ OCZ GameXstream 850w ₪ X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS edition ₪ OCZ Vertex 3 120GB ₪ Antec P182 ₪ NAS ReadyDuo 4Tb ₪ BenQ FP241WZ 24" Widescreen LCD ₪ Windows 7 x64
Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 02:08 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
Juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,946
Send a message via AIM to Juice Send a message via MSN to Juice
Default Re: TV I bought

Wow... you paid 800 for it?? I got a 1080p 46inch for 600. Damn that's a really high price. Definitely return it before you open it.
__________________
Juice
P4 2.4GHz, 1.5Gb, 40Gb.
PowerBook G4 867MHz, 1Gb, 60Gb.
Juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 03:27 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: TV I bought

If you want plasma, you really can't get 1080p. Outrageously expensive. Cheaper to go LCD, especially with a smaller display like you're getting.

@ Fisher - that's a 720P TV, you fell for their marketing gimmick. If you read the thing, it says it's not really 1080P, but it can downconvert 1080P signals.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 03:38 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: TV I bought

Yeah, but its definietly one of the better 720p sets out there
Really rich blacks, etc, unlike LCD.
Ah well...
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 03:43 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: TV I bought

Haha, my monitor broke, so I'm actually typing this on my 50" 720P plasma. The color reproduction is excellent

Do they even have 1080P plasmas out yet? I know when we bought our TV they were pretty much nonexistent. There were a couple but they cost a fortune.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 03:48 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: TV I bought

yea they do have 1080p plasmas...look at best buy lol

but only 42 inch and larger plasmas come with 1080p lol
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0