Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2009, 03:10 PM   #1
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Is this TV good?

So, currently, my family's TV is a 27" CRT that we bought at radioshack for $120 after my parents got divorced. We have been saving for almost 3 yers to buy a new TV, so now it is actually time to get it. We wanted a 42", but this one seems nice. http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product...f-eeb1b674a000
Has anyone had any experience with proscan? I know the contrast isn't great, and it is an LCD, but its either settle with that, or wait another year for a plasma, which we can't do as our RCA is dying. What do you suggest? the budget is $600.
__________________

foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:15 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Is this TV good?

ProScan used to be reserved for RCA's high end product line. I had a friend who owned a set a few years ago. If it's anything like RCA in recent years, their quality has fallen sharply. I would honestly stick with household brands for televisions if you're planning to use this as your primary set.

Edit: After some further research, it looks like an umbrella brand for a third party company. I personally wouldn't touch it.
__________________

__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:18 PM   #3
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Is this TV good?

OK then. What would you suggest?
My current set is an RCA, but it is like 5 years old. I've never heard of a CRT dying after only 5 years. They are usually like a rock.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:20 PM   #4
Wizard of Wires
 
setishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not sure
Posts: 10,030
Default Re: Is this TV good?

Hey kid you're over here by me. I'm in east BR. The Best Buy over by here has some scratch and dent items that are going for cheap. Their house brand has a good picture for a decent price.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:24 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Is this TV good?

Quote:
OK then. What would you suggest?
I personally don't have any real suggestions. I'd assume any major electronics brand like Panasonic, Sony, or Samsung could offer a reliable television.

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
My current set is an RCA, but it is like 5 years old. I've never heard of a CRT dying after only 5 years. They are usually like a rock.
Yeah, RCA is owned by Thomson SA. They're currently a shadow of their past. Thomson SA virtually sold the brand to the highest bidder for licensing. It's really tragic what they did to tarnish the reputation of RCA.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:27 PM   #6
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Is this TV good?

Quote:
Originally Posted by setishock View Post
Hey kid you're over here by me. I'm in east BR. The Best Buy over by here has some scratch and dent items that are going for cheap. Their house brand has a good picture for a decent price.
OK. I'll go check tonight. Their website said that all hdtvs will be on sale sunday and monday, but it is online only. I'm hoping that that includes store pickup so I don't have to pay for shipping that I don't need.

I'm in East BR too.

What is the house brand?
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:28 PM   #7
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Is this TV good?

something like Dynex or Westinghouse? or are those not it?
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:28 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Is this TV good?

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
What is the house brand?
Any brand that is owned by the retailer who's distributing it. They license the brand out to third party vendors and sell it as their own. Insignia is Best Buy's house brand.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:35 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Is this TV good?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16889101154

Its another $100 and a tiny bit smaller, but I've been very impressed with the Sharp Aquos series.

Sony, Sharp, Panasonic, and LG make great TV sets.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:35 PM   #10
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Is this TV good?

Oh. I didn't know that about insignia. I probably won't buy an insignia. I've had 2 of their little portable DVD players and both broke. In fact, I've had 5 of thosse things, and not one still works at all. I just gave up, and bought a DVD drive for my iBook G4. That was the biggest pita to put in. it took like 2 hours since i didn't have any type of instuctions. I mean, what was apple thinking with that? The ENTIRE computer has to be disassembled to get to it. The HD is even worse.

Anyway, best buy has the proscan for $499. That's pretty tempting as there is no $30 shipping fee or $25 non-member fee like at costco.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber314Chicken View Post
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16889101154

Its another $100 and a tiny bit smaller, but I've been very impressed with the Sharp Aquos series.

Sony, Sharp, Panasonic, and LG make great TV sets.
Yeah, they are very nice, but I need 1080p, and the 40" is about as small as I am really willing to go.

The proscan has excellent reviews. Has anyone here actually owned one? I am definitely considering it, as it is everything we need, cheap, and I can buy it locally, so I don't have to pay for shipping, or return shipping if something is wrong with it.
__________________

foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0