Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2008, 05:59 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default TV Converter Box Coupon Program

https://www.dtv2009.gov/

Anyone get their coupon yet?
__________________

__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 08:36 PM   #2
Wizard of Wires
 
setishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not sure
Posts: 10,030
Default Re: TV Converter Box Coupon Program

If you're on cable you don't need it.
01001010,
How much is the box to start with?
__________________

setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 08:49 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: TV Converter Box Coupon Program

$19.99 with the coupon, $59.99 without.

These make excellent backup boxes should the cable go out.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 09:03 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: TV Converter Box Coupon Program

Yeah, we just got ours, I never watch TV though. We got 2, and havent even installed the 2nd one yet. My sister is one of those people that watches TV just to watch TV, not me though, if something really good is on when I walk by, I will watch for awhile though. Simpsons for example, lol.
Anyway, the boxes are great, but when there is low signels, the res is digitally messed up, instead of just getting a little fuzzy, so channels are either good or bad, instead of decent, or pretty good, or too fuzzy...
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 10:08 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: TV Converter Box Coupon Program

do you need a converter box if u have satalite?
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 10:11 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: TV Converter Box Coupon Program

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee286 View Post
do you need a converter box if u have satalite?
No.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 10:12 PM   #7
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: TV Converter Box Coupon Program

Quote:
Originally Posted by superman22x View Post
Yeah, we just got ours, I never watch TV though. We got 2, and havent even installed the 2nd one yet. My sister is one of those people that watches TV just to watch TV, not me though, if something really good is on when I walk by, I will watch for awhile though. Simpsons for example, lol.
Anyway, the boxes are great, but when there is low signels, the res is digitally messed up, instead of just getting a little fuzzy, so channels are either good or bad, instead of decent, or pretty good, or too fuzzy...
its like the whole digital switch over in the UK
before the digital switch over there where some channels that where just fuzzy or would go fuzzy if there was bad weather but you culd deal with it if it was a programme you really wanted to watch but now if there is bad weather it just goes all blocky and in watchable , and you cant go outside to play either cos the weather is crap
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 10:16 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: TV Converter Box Coupon Program

That's the thing with digital. You either have it or you don't.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 10:19 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: TV Converter Box Coupon Program

yeah for people with an antenna or bunny ears they will get pretty much nothing in digital since everything you get is kind of fuzzy
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 10:20 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: TV Converter Box Coupon Program

^^ Exactly, well put, lol. And we dont really have it, kinda sucks. Too many trees probably.
__________________

__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0