Truck issue

FlightSimBoy

Fully Optimized
Hmm, I know some of you have vehicle experience, so lets see what you think.

My truck (1999 Ford F-150 4.2L V6 5-Speed manual) is having some issues. In any gear, when I press the accelerator, the RPM (from what I hear, I don't have a tachometer so I have no idea how many RPMs I'm getting) goes up really high and then back down to what I consider below normal for my truck. What could cause the RPMs to shoot up really high and then back down? This is most noticeable in 4th and 5th gear.

I've also noticed something else.. It seems like it is using less gas than usual. I usually get 20 MPG, but at it's current rate, I'm getting about 23 to 24, which is odd for a truck that size.

I have some vehicle experience myself, and to me this sounds like a fuel injector issue.

Possible causes?:
I changed the oil 2 weeks ago
I used STP Fuel Injector cleaner 3 weeks ago (could this be kicking in finally?)
Belt and or chain slippage? Been awhile since the belt was changed (don't remember how long)
Clutch going out? (The clutch now has a squeaking noise that never occurred before this.. But its coming from the inside, almost like the clutch pedal needs oiled.. Not the entire mechanism.)

I know I probably got an extra 1 MPG when I put air in my tires (they had 30 PSI.. They're supposed to have 40... I put in 38 because it was warm when I put air in them, and it was supposed to get colder later...)

Ehh.. This is weird.. Any suggestions?

AHHH

Had my neighbor look at it... Well..... Turns out the clutch disengages about an inch from it being fully out... Which is not right at all.. So, the clutch could be going out or it could be the clutch plate.

Worst case scenario, drop the transmission, replace the entire clutch system (plate, clutch, gaskets, etc..) A few hundred bucks.

Best case scenario: It isn't the plate or the clutch, its a bolt that slipped somewhere and I can readjust the clutch myself. Free.