Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2009, 06:56 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
Prodigy146's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,751
Send a message via AIM to Prodigy146 Send a message via MSN to Prodigy146 Send a message via Yahoo to Prodigy146
Default Toms Hardware "How Many Cpu Cores Do You Need?"

Excerpt from end of review:


Quote:
As far as games go, we see a huge 60% performance jump from going single-core to dual-core, and a further 25% leap from dual- to triple-core. Quad cores offer no benefits in the sampling of games we tested. While more games might change the landscape a little, we think the triple-core Phenom II X3s are looking good as a low-cost gaming option.
i thought that was kind of interesting.. i wonder if amd knew that all along


Source: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...-cpu,2280.html
__________________

__________________
[Proc: Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.6ghz] [Motherboard: Asus 870 M4A87TD EVO]
[GPU: Asus 5770 Crossfire] [PSU: Corsair 650 12v53a] [Cooler: Scythe Mugen 2]
[RAM: Patriot 4GB DDR3 1600] [Case: Antec 300 Illusion] [HDD: 2x WD 640GB Raid 0]
Prodigy146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 07:01 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 3,390
Default Re: Toms Hardware "How Many Cpu Cores Do You Need?"

^^ sweet ^^

They might not have known but due to their CPU architecture the're built differentlt to Intel chips and haven't they always been pretty good CPU's for gaming rigs?
__________________

Remeniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 07:35 PM   #3
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: Toms Hardware "How Many Cpu Cores Do You Need?"

Yup, I've never had any problems gaming with AMD processors. Hell, that's all I have ever used in the 19 or so years that I've been building computers. They perform well and are cheaper on average than their Intel counterparts.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 08:02 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Toms Hardware "How Many Cpu Cores Do You Need?"

CPU's aren't necessarily built for games though. Many programs will utilise 4 cores or more
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 08:18 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Toms Hardware "How Many Cpu Cores Do You Need?"

I'm too poor to buy anything thing more than a double. And that was a stretch for me to buy.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 08:34 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
Prodigy146's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,751
Send a message via AIM to Prodigy146 Send a message via MSN to Prodigy146 Send a message via Yahoo to Prodigy146
Default Re: Toms Hardware "How Many Cpu Cores Do You Need?"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post
CPU's aren't necessarily built for games though. Many programs will utilise 4 cores or more

But you see your looking at this wrong. The benifits from quad cores in other applications could be seen as superflous when compared to a three core i.e: waiting 30 seconds to a minute for a dvd to be done encoding, cs4 to load up, etc. But when it come to fps (something that decides how you experience a game) going to three core to quad core is basically no difference. What im trying to say is that this review kinda shows that spending $140 for a II 720 X3 is basically just as good as a II 955 X4 $255 if you dont mind waiting an extra minute for your video to be done encoding

But idk its just my opinon..
__________________
[Proc: Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.6ghz] [Motherboard: Asus 870 M4A87TD EVO]
[GPU: Asus 5770 Crossfire] [PSU: Corsair 650 12v53a] [Cooler: Scythe Mugen 2]
[RAM: Patriot 4GB DDR3 1600] [Case: Antec 300 Illusion] [HDD: 2x WD 640GB Raid 0]
Prodigy146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 08:48 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Toms Hardware "How Many Cpu Cores Do You Need?"

Still, I'd much prefer to be future proofed quite a bit. I get what you mean though.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 09:19 PM   #8
Daemon Poster
 
PokerDegenerate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,465
Default Re: Toms Hardware "How Many Cpu Cores Do You Need?"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigy146 View Post
But you see your looking at this wrong. The benifits from quad cores in other applications could be seen as superflous when compared to a three core i.e: waiting 30 seconds to a minute for a dvd to be done encoding, cs4 to load up, etc. But when it come to fps (something that decides how you experience a game) going to three core to quad core is basically no difference. What im trying to say is that this review kinda shows that spending $140 for a II 720 X3 is basically just as good as a II 955 X4 $255 if you dont mind waiting an extra minute for your video to be done encoding

But idk its just my opinon..
That minute adds up quickly IMO so thats why I skipped the 720 and went right to the 955 BE...

Not really why I bought it but oh well. I just want to OC it to 4.3 Ghz and see how my FPS's are....
__________________
Raidmax Smilodon Extreme Black Case -|-AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE @ 3829.50 Mhz (18.5 x 207, vcore 1.424, NB 2600 mhz, HT link 2200 mhz) -|- Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V -|- Gigabyte MA790XT-UD4P Mobo -|- G. Skill 6Gb (3 x 2Gb) DDR3 1333 RAM 7-7-7-18-2t -|- WD Caviar 7200 RPM 1 TB HDD -|- OCZ GameXtreme 700W -|- Radeon 4870 1Gb @ 780/1050 -|- Asus VW202NR 20" wide-screen -|- Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit -|- Saitek Cyborg Keyboard -|- Razer Lachesis Mouse
PokerDegenerate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 09:26 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
esa193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,210
Send a message via AIM to esa193
Default Re: Toms Hardware "How Many Cpu Cores Do You Need?"

i thought that was kind of interesting.. i wonder if amd knew that all along


most games dont support more then 3 cores because there designed for xbox then ported to pc and upgraded..... (xbox = 3core)
amds 3 core im pretty sure are just defective 4 cores with one core shut off
wait till games start to take advantage of the mulit cores
then ull see the pc side of gaming take off dramatically graphics wise compared to xbox/ps3
__________________
antec 900, q6600, 4G, 500G, 160G, 9800gtx, 780i, 47in 1080ptv, 5.1 surround sound

MacArthur wrestling pwns!
esa193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 12:53 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
worshipme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: Toms Hardware "How Many Cpu Cores Do You Need?"

You can tell when a game is ported. Hardly any real PC games are ported. Not even Mass Effect which was originally intended to be Xbox exclusive was ported to PC.
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 4.0GHz + TU120E lapped - MSI 770-CD45 AM3 - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333MHz - Sapphire HD 4870 - Samsung Spinpoint 500GB 7200RPM 16MB cache HDD - Tagan TG600-BZ Piperock - (Currently open test bed) - Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit.
worshipme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0