Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2007, 12:54 PM   #21
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Timeouts

theres plenty more forums out there. i just dont want to leave this all behind

so true ^
this was my first forum then i joined a mobile phone one just after and abandoned this one, but if im not here thats where i hang out
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:57 PM   #22
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: Timeouts

What we need is a pure HDD wipeout. Back up the user registrations and stuff to affiliate and reinstall a fresh, and stable DB, and then apply VB...or Invision.
__________________

lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 01:00 PM   #23
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Timeouts

ohhh ipb would be nice
maybe custom avatars at the same time
but yh a backup and re install of everything on a new server is a good idea
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 01:04 PM   #24
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Timeouts

I really hope we can keep out rep and posts, although I would rather start from anew than keep on having these errors.
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 01:10 PM   #25
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: Timeouts

The thing is, if you delete all the posts, you can say goodbye to CF's PageRank. From a business perspective, PR is the most important thing. Getting new members to view ads...I doubt David will want to lose that. All the guides and such that have been posted on here in the past 4 years just disappearing would be a killer.

On the other hand, I know if some members lost their precious post count and rep, they would be very unhappy, and possibly leave.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 01:11 PM   #26
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Timeouts

you backup the database so you will have all the posts, not sure about post count and rep. i have a feeling that would possibly stay
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 05:07 PM   #27
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Timeouts

Some idiot opened way too many connections and so no one else could get on
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 05:31 PM   #28
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Timeouts

hello furby. please go away. goodbye
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 05:42 PM   #29
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: Timeouts

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhuser View Post
What we need is a pure HDD wipeout. Back up the user registrations and stuff to affiliate and reinstall a fresh, and stable DB, and then apply VB...or Invision.
thats what ive suggested twice to david. but since other sites on this HDD so he could only delete vB then re install it
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Lindon View Post
Some idiot opened way too many connections and so no one else could get on

use the DB to ban the ip's. ban whole ip ranges if you have too
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 05:57 PM   #30
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Timeouts

So its Furby hacking into the system?
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0