Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2007, 11:36 AM   #11
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Timeouts

Its not David's fault though I'm sure.

Obviously, the server hes signed up on, isn't as secure, etc as he hoped.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 11:40 AM   #12
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Timeouts

I might get absolutely flamed for this, but I see a VERY drastic solution. We could completely change the forums. Even the cheap free forums that I have been on get no DBE or anything of that kind. I know it will be painful to let go of the forum we love, but we can build another one up just like this, only without all the errors. I mean, most of the frequently posting members will move to a different forum with no problem, and we could just link this domain a different site.

Sorry if I sounded stupid..
__________________

Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 11:42 AM   #13
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Timeouts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post
Its not David's fault though I'm sure.

Obviously, the server hes signed up on, isn't as secure, etc as he hoped.
I don't blame David for the database errors these things happen sometimes and if he has been keeping good care of the database then its not his fault
but what will be his fault is if the site dies and he does nothing .or dosent get it fixed whatever it takes .seeing as he is the admin he is the man in charge so he has to do something if he relay wants to keep the site up and running .
If the hosting isnt secure choose better hosting . Nothing the members can do its all down to him .Hell people even offered to dontae money to pay for better hosting because they like this site that much .If that dosent show david we are right behind him in getting this problem fixed .I or nobody else is against him in getting this fixed or at least i dont think anyone is .But there is only so much people will tolerate before they just leave

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelis View Post
I might get absolutely flamed for this, but I see a VERY drastic solution. We could completely change the forums. Even the cheap free forums that I have been on get no DBE or anything of that kind. I know it will be painful to let go of the forum we love, but we can build another one up just like this, only without all the errors. I mean, most of the frequently posting members will move to a different forum with no problem, and we could just link this domain a different site.

Sorry if I sounded stupid..

Dude if anyone flames in here they are getting negative rep trust me on that one If you dont wanna discuss this like an adult then please fcuk off as we are discussing the future of the forum here and we need to be adult about it .And if you don't like what someone is saying PM then thets not start arguing in here
As for what you suggested i think it should be kept as a last attempt/plan to save the forum . There must be a way to repair what is already here i would rather stay as i am than change but if needs be then yeah it would be ok i suppose
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:26 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Timeouts

it annoys the hell out of me but its so frequent that i actually expect it when i log on, and i am getting used to it. it then leads me to post on another forum.
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:29 PM   #15
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Timeouts

^^ See? Even as senior members are posting on another forum instead on this one because of the errors.

I am not saying that people can't post on other forums, I am just saying that when there are other forums with less Errors and whitescreens, new people choose them over our, far more superior, forum simply because there is less to deal with on those other forums.
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:31 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Timeouts

yh, i love going on this other forum because its so reliable and the social chat is actually quite interesting (not that this site is boring), its just a great incentive.
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:37 PM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
blackjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,945
Send a message via MSN to blackjack
Default Re: Timeouts

I'm with you dude I like this forum as well and it has helped me out on several occasions, sure its frustrating with the errors we are getting but theres always another day lol.
__________________
Compaq Presario CQ5305K-m Intel« Pentium« Dual Core E5300 (2.6 GHz), Windows« 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 2048 MB , Hard drive: 320 Gb, with 18.5 Widescreen
SPURS TILL I DIE (DIAMONDS ARE FOREVER SO ARE SPURS)
TO DARE IS TO DO
blackjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:39 PM   #18
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Timeouts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelis View Post
^^ See? Even as senior members are posting on another forum instead on this one because of the errors.

I am not saying that people can't post on other forums, I am just saying that when there are other forums with less Errors and whitescreens, new people choose them over our, far more superior, forum simply because there is less to deal with on those other forums.
its cos people wanna just come on and post not worry about stupid database errors .
I have actually found myself over at computer vitals a lot more since all this crap started happening
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:48 PM   #19
Fully Optimized
 
CompMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,323
Send a message via AIM to CompMan
Default Re: Timeouts

This is the only forum I go on.
and I don't plan on leaving at all but this needs to get fixed can't we find a new hosting company or something like that?

Does it need to be cleaned out cause there is threads in here that are from 2003.

IDK but when i log on I cross my fingers every time.
__________________
|Intel Q6600@3.0ghz|┐|ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA|┐|2GiG Corsair XM2 DDR2 800|┐|EvGa 8800GTS|┐|36gig Western Digital Raptor 10,000 rpm|┐|Ultra X2 connect 550W modular psu|┐|Thermaltake Tsunami Case|Vista 64bit|
Windows has Blue screens, Mac has grey screens, and CF has White screens!!
2004 Mazda RX-8 GT Titanium Grey, Greddy Exhaust, AEM cold air intake
--objects in rearview get smaller with each shift--
CompMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:53 PM   #20
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Timeouts

Quote:
Originally Posted by CompMan View Post
This is the only forum I go on.
and I don't plan on leaving at all but this needs to get fixed can't we find a new hosting company or something like that?

Does it need to be cleaned out cause there is threads in here that are from 2003.

IDK but when i log on I cross my fingers every time.
This is the first forum i signed up for but tbh there are plenty more forums out there that we can join
This is compettiton and if this forum dosent live up to its expectations some people will leave .Its not like this is the only computer forum on the whole internet that we can visit i know loads more and so does my good friend mr google .
ALso this forum means different things to peopel . to some it is their only forum to others it is just another forum out there and so people will have varying levels of loyalty to the forum
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0