Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2008, 11:33 PM   #11
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: To those with Vista

i use it, i think its pretty handy, doesnt kill my performance at all
__________________

__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 06:41 AM   #12
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: To those with Vista

nope dont use it myself but ive only got a celeron with 1Gb ram in my laptop so i need all the speed i can get
__________________

__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 08:18 AM   #13
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: To those with Vista

I turned it off within a day or so. My laptop isn't the greatest so I don't want anything unnecessary using resources.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 02:12 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: To those with Vista

Well, I find it handy to have the battery monitor for my laptop, and I look at the clock a lot too. It is a bit of a resource hog, but I like it, for now anyway. (I've only been using vista for about 2 months)
__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 02:19 PM   #15
Fully Optimized
 
Bobert93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,449
Default Re: To those with Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlightSimBoy View Post
It's sad. I have 2 gigs of RAM, and idle my machine uses 25% of it, usually 30 to 35% with Firefox, and maybe only 90% with even the most intensive games, yet I feel like I never have enough.
My computer idles at 1%-3% with firefox open , not sure what its like in games thoe
__________________
(ASUS P5E X38)__(Q6600@3.4Ghz)__(Innod3D 8800GTS 512Mb 800/1920)__(4Gb corsair XMS2 800Mhz)__(Antec 900)__(Vista 64Bit)_(Zalman 9700)
{3DMark06 15211}
Bobert93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 02:49 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: To those with Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlightSimBoy View Post
I don't use it. It eats up too much of my RAM.

Occasionally, when I am bored, I'll pop it open and use a CPU meter for dual core CPU, a RAM usage monitor, a local weather app. I forget what else.

It's sad. I have 2 gigs of RAM, and idle my machine uses 25% of it, usually 30 to 35% with Firefox, and maybe only 90% with even the most intensive games, yet I feel like I never have enough.
Don't judge vista by it's memory utilization. XP uses the bare minimum amount of ram necessary to do something, whereas Vista tries to use all of the system memory in an effort to speed up day to day operations (Much like linux)
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 05:02 PM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: To those with Vista

I place the sidebar on my second monitor. I tend to look at it every now and again to check my temps and internet usage. Apps I run are the clock, everest ultimate, notepad and DU meter. I generally have between 2.6-2.8GB of free memory with just basic apps like firefox and my anti virus running. I've seen it dip to under 1.3GB when doing graphic editing or heavy gaming.

I highly recommend anyone that uses this to check out everest ultimate. I'm sure most of you use it but some probably don't know it has a sidebar utility integrated into the preferences menu.

So useful for displaying virtually anything you want to know about your PC.
__________________

ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0