Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2008, 11:55 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Question is there a program that....

i can use to play my games?
Ok heres the deal, i have a few games i always play, and its beginning to become a pain in the ass to always have to put the cd in to play.
What i will do, if this will be possible, and if someone knows of a program or software that does this, but i will make ISO images of all my game cds (these are all bought) and store them on my harddrive, and then using whatever software to just simply select the iso image i need for which ever game.

So my question now is, what software can i use to accomplish this??
__________________

__________________
Desktop - DualBoot: Fedora 15/Windows 7 64bit
Netbook - Windows 7 Professional

www.Cyber-Talk.ca League of Legends and Gaming Community
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 11:59 PM   #2
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: is there a program that....

you use something called a Crack. I will supply you a link and instructions through PM since its pretty much forbidden to do.
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:01 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: is there a program that....

www.gamecopyworld.com

get a crack off there for each game and put it in each game's folder in the program files folder.
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:08 AM   #4
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: is there a program that....

haha, thats the link i gave to him through PM
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:27 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Default Re: is there a program that....

now i can only use this for single player correct?

like i don't have any multiplayer that require a cd. and using that above...still means i have the "legal" game right?
__________________
Desktop - DualBoot: Fedora 15/Windows 7 64bit
Netbook - Windows 7 Professional

www.Cyber-Talk.ca League of Legends and Gaming Community
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:46 AM   #6
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: is there a program that....

according to that site. yes.
I think as long as you still have the original disc, you will be fine.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:48 AM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: is there a program that....

Yep, no cd cracks will work for single player, just make sure you get the correct version for the game version you are running, e.g. If your game is patched to 1.6 you'll need a 1.6 no cd crack

There is also Megagames and GameBurnWorld

The cracks are usually listed as "Game Fixes"

If you want to go with your original idea you can create the .iso files and mount them in a virtual drive, there are a couple of programmes to do this with, names escape me right now as I use no cd cracks personally.

This is a topic that is hotly debated in most forums as you are technically breaking the EULA by altering the game code and is the way people can use pirated games but on the other hand people (like myself) who have bought the games legitimately will argue for the use because of the reason you state and the fact that continual use scratches the media eventually rendering it useless.

There are several game makers/marketers who realise this (THQ - Company of Heroes for example) who have a no cd built into the game, but however you may randomly (usually after a patch) be asked to insert your disk to verify ownership which imo is a much better system
__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:51 AM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Default Re: is there a program that....

@ATF
yeah...thats why i wanted to make sure it was still legal to use those cracks. like i bought the games, and have the cds and serials...but its a drag having to use the cds all the time. and yeah they scratch up a lot too!
__________________
Desktop - DualBoot: Fedora 15/Windows 7 64bit
Netbook - Windows 7 Professional

www.Cyber-Talk.ca League of Legends and Gaming Community
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:52 AM   #9
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: is there a program that....

Quote:
Originally Posted by A True Folder View Post
Yep, no cd cracks will work for single player, just make sure you get the correct version for the game version you are running, e.g. If your game is patched to 1.6 you'll need a 1.6 no cd crack
yeah, i sent him a message about that.
This is pretty much how pirates play the game, and get past the DRM.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:52 AM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
A True Folder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: is there a program that....

Technically it is illegal, but hey, the no cd crack police haven't busted down my door yet and I've been doing it for years,

__________________

__________________
E8600@ 4.25GHz, 1.325V | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme + Scythe Slipstream 120 | Asus Rampage Extreme| 4GB Corsair 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 @ 1600 6-7-6-24| ASUS 9800GTX| Pioneer 18X SATA DVD-RW | 320GB + 500GB WD SATAII | Antec True Power Trio 650W | Thermaltake Sonata | Vista Ultimate x64 SP2/Win7 Ultimate
A True Folder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0