Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2007, 03:32 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Test time

Well hopefully he is out celebrating a pass.
__________________

Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 03:35 PM   #12
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: Test time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz View Post
No, i took them in the UK, they have test centres worldwide.
where is the one in the US. i though that most colleges had them. heck our local community college has A+ certifaction class
__________________

Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 03:54 PM   #13
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Test time

theres more than one test centre in the us, just do a check on pearson vue and prometrics websites if your looking for a centre near you.
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 03:56 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: Test time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudster816 View Post
where is the one in the US. i though that most colleges had them. heck our local community college has A+ certifaction class
Check out this page for testing center locations:
http://certification.comptia.org/res...istration.aspx
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 04:01 PM   #15
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: Test time

then how come you said they had 2 test centers?
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 04:03 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Test time

Who said they have 2 test centres????
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 04:31 PM   #17
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: Test time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz View Post
No, i took them in the UK, they have test centres worldwide.
WTF i swore i read two test centers TWICE......ugh im going mad
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 11:15 PM   #18
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Test time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz View Post
Good luck with the A+ mate, its not that hard, and if you have been studying it for a year then you should have no problems. Are you doing both exams today?
Yes I did. For those who don't know about it, the exams are like this. You need to take two exams. One is an essentials that all A+ certified people need to pass, the second is more of a specialization thing (you have three options here). You must pass both tests to get certified. The tests are weird on how they are scored. It's 100-900 points.

On the essentials, I got a 725, which is a pass.

On the IT Technician specilazation test, i got a 770 which is a































PASS! I would tell you how many points you need, but I'd hate to break one of the rules my first day. The tests are supposed to take 90 minutes each, with 30 total minutes of surveys and warm up stuff in addition to that. Because my test center allowed me to start the second test right after I finished the first, I got in and out in 1 hour and 45 minutes. Yes, I did review every question too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz View Post
Well hopefully he is out celebrating a pass.
Nah, I wish. Instead it was ten hours at work helping build part of a 98 computer order. between me and one other co-worker we assembly-lined 41 computers together, vista and all.

Thanks to everyone who wished me luck.
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 11:46 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Test time

Nice to hear it went well. What sort of stuff can you do after you pass that test?
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 11:55 PM   #20
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Test time

Get jobs as a technician a lot easier is pretty much the gist of it. However, even that makes it well worth the cost. Just knowing that That little piece of paper will help me get a job over someone who has the same amount of experience, but isn't certified is nice.
__________________

__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0