Suggestions for Designing a Visually Appealing Website

waldorfpc

In Runtime
I am W3 certified and can develop sites from scratch; however, I am not really good at knowing what is attractive. You might think that is crazy, but allow me to explain

Being that I am blind, I am not really sure what really looks visually appealing as far as websites are concerned. I do, however, have an understanding of color concepts and what things look like, as I saw when I was a child. Unfortunately, that was before the days of personal use of computers and the Internet as we know it today, as I was born before people used computers in their homes. Since this is the case, I am asking for your help. Please answer the following questions:

What type and size of font will be acceptable on a business website? When I construct documents, I normally write in Arial or Times New Roman, and the size is usually twelve point. Can the same apply to websites?

What color should the font be? I know that, in documents, font color is traditionally black.

What color background should I use?

What kind of layout do you recommend? Should I use columns, as many developers do, or can I just lay it out like a traditional page?

What kind of pictures are appropriate to use for a background image? Or, do I need any at all? I was thinking of just having pictures of me and other various products along with a company logo where aplicable. I was not really planning to use any background images.