Stupid but interesting question

Yeah that's happened once, the crying thing. But that was when I was like 5 or something. I forgot exaclty what it was, but it had something to do with like my parents not letting me do something I really wanted to do (ya know how kids are when they don't get what they want) and then I started crying and I woke up with tears and stuff, lol.

ok i have some knowledge in of this sorta stuff and the brain.

kage and david pretty much summed it up. its the brain defraging pretty much after it is crammed with information throughout the day.
as for the brain needing a rest... that isnt necessarily true, its all linked to circadian rhythms (sleep patterns-im reading a book on this at the moment) and basically the body has to follow a set pattern. this is pretty much influenced by outside stimuli like day and night, hot and cold(day and night temps) and so on. when the body naturally rests then yes the brain defrags the current short term memory storage and puts it into the long term storage.

this storage is in neuron clusters from what i understand. basically if u get stimuli from anything, say that u have no other feelings and then u get sight: everything is black but u can now see a white light. then ur neuron clusters will start firing as each one relays information about what u know of this stimuli: its bright, hurts ur eyes, what ever.

so basically when ur dreaming its the random firing of single or groups of neurons that have stored throughout the day, different information u have received from stimuli: sounds, sights, smells, all that stuff.

and yes, the focus of this book where i got all this information, was on Lucid Dreaming!!!

bascally it happens when ur close to waking up with the bodies natural cycles. sometimes it happens sometimes it doesnt, it depends on how u have slept pretty much i think.