Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2008, 02:33 PM   #31
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Stock Market

I don't know what happened. There was a spike, I sold my shares immediately. All but one. It's pending. If it is successful I'll have made about $544k today.

edit: The stock market restored to it's previous positions before my stocks sold. I canceled the sale. =[. I would have made $550k.
__________________

JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 02:37 PM   #32
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Stock Market

arrgh!!! just bought a lot of NVIDIA and now I'm like under by 3K.

This is gonna make me mad. I'm gonna leave it before I kill myself in frustration.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 02:39 PM   #33
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Stock Market

I'm pissed. I think it was tech malfunction. nVidia and one of my Brazilian shares went up 130% & 150% respectively and I hit sell, but it didn't sell immediately. I would have made half a million on that. Now my profits dropped 2% from 5.2 to 3.2.

edit: 2.9 now
edit2: They won't let me sell!!!!!
edit3: It's stabilizing.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 02:41 PM   #34
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Stock Market

and that is why i stopped after like 2 hours. I realized I wanna gonna go physco and be addicted to it like heroine.

Never said that was a bad thing though.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 02:45 PM   #35
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Stock Market

I should have sold when it was at 5.2. I thought about it.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 02:50 PM   #36
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Stock Market

Quote:
Originally Posted by JogaBonito1502 View Post
I should have sold when it was at 5.2. I thought about it.
this makes me think of the whole put options thing. Does it do anything like that?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 02:51 PM   #37
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Stock Market

What do you mean "put options thing"? By the way, add me.

edit: Stock Market is tanking. They're having technical difficulties and you can't sell. Bottom line: If you have any stock, you're screwed.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 03:05 PM   #38
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Stock Market

Quote:
Originally Posted by JogaBonito1502 View Post
What do you mean "put options thing"? By the way, add me.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Put_option

basically you pay to be able to sell the stock at the price it is now.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 03:07 PM   #39
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Stock Market

I think the fee is $100.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 04:12 PM   #40
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Stock Market

It's back now....
__________________

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0