Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2008, 12:14 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Steam requires Defrag?

Hmm, I decided to play Team Fortress 2 randomly. I haven't opened Steam in a while, and its now performing a defrag?
I hope its just on the Steam files, but... my computer should be defragged anyway. Its not long ago that I ran it. I just hope it doesn't mess up my machine.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 01:02 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Steam requires Defrag?

no. steam is stupid enough to require a defrag of your steam game files, so it does it for you. useless really.
__________________

__________________
amd athlon x2 4800+ 2.5ghz / 4gb ddr2 800mhz mushkin/ ZOTAC 8600gt 256mb / 320gb HDD 7200RPM / 250 watt psu
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 01:23 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Steam requires Defrag?

Haha, well it did the defrag, and I selected to run the game. It updated, started, said it was loading, and hung there, and didn't move. I had to reset too...
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 01:28 PM   #4
Daemon Poster
 
ilovepcs25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 995
Default Re: Steam requires Defrag?

that sucks kage i hope you get it running again
ilovepcs25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 01:34 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Steam requires Defrag?

Thanks, haha.
The same thing happened a while back when I tried to quit Portal after playing (it happened a few times). If I pressed to Exit, the system hung.
I found the only way to exit from then on was to use Alt-F4 :|
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 03:12 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: Steam requires Defrag?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spywarebanisher View Post
no. steam is stupid enough to require a defrag of your steam game files, so it does it for you. useless really.
Yeah, cause, you know, fragmentation rocks!
MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 10:04 PM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Steam requires Defrag?

there is no difference between fragmented and defragmented files in such a small file as TF2
__________________
amd athlon x2 4800+ 2.5ghz / 4gb ddr2 800mhz mushkin/ ZOTAC 8600gt 256mb / 320gb HDD 7200RPM / 250 watt psu
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 12:09 AM   #8
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: Steam requires Defrag?

The TF2 content alone is 2.8 gigs, but thats not including the source 2007 shared files which brings it up to over 6 1/2.
MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 12:41 AM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: Steam requires Defrag?

ive never noticed that steam defrags. i use O&O, one of the best de-fragmentation programs you can "buy" . it runs as my screensaver every 10 minutes, so my computer is always optimized and it makes a huge difference. since it runs every 10 minutes it only moves like 20 files, but it still keeps everything in tip top shape.
__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 10:05 AM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Steam requires Defrag?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeReiner View Post
The TF2 content alone is 2.8 gigs, but thats not including the source 2007 shared files which brings it up to over 6 1/2.
small as in comparison wiith a modern hard drive.
__________________

__________________
amd athlon x2 4800+ 2.5ghz / 4gb ddr2 800mhz mushkin/ ZOTAC 8600gt 256mb / 320gb HDD 7200RPM / 250 watt psu
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0