Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2006, 02:05 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
Š88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,775
Send a message via MSN to Š88
Default SP3 for XP delayed...the reason?

http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=4630

In the very first post below the article the guy points out probably one of the main reasons for yet another delay in service pack 3 for XP. The whole dx10 thing. Like he suggests, the patch for XP to be compatible with dx10 is probably encased in SP3 but to release it at the same time of Vista will obviously destroy sales of Vista causing Vista's release to be a complete failure. Now the tactic is to delay SP3 in order to ensure a heavy transition of users to Vista, reap the profits from it then release SP3 for those who aren't going to fall for their little "trick". I understand that it's all in proper marketing and money-making but it burns me to realize the dishonesty that these "companies for the people" really have. Oh well, i guess it's really no bother to me so much, i will just wait for SP3...whenever it is released.
__________________

__________________
Killing under the cloak of war is no different than murder

Kein Alkohol ist auch keine Lösung!
Š88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 02:11 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,008
Send a message via AIM to X1337 Send a message via MSN to X1337
Default Re: SP3 for XP delayed...the reason?

Wow Dx10 for Windows XP
__________________

X1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 02:35 PM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
Lac3y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,110
Send a message via MSN to Lac3y
Default Re: SP3 for XP delayed...the reason?

It's gonna be a while til I purchase Vista, so I guess I'm gonna be one of the one's that waits desperately for SP3
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.7GHz
4GB OCZ PC-6400 RAM
Samsung Spinpoint 1TB HDD
ATI Radeon HD4890 with VoltageTweak
OCZ Stealth XStream 600w PSU
Lac3y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 02:38 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: SP3 for XP delayed...the reason?

Well, I'm too anxious for DirectX10. I can't wait another whole year for it...I'll just buy Vista. I might actually be able to get my hands on a volume-license for it since that's coming out earlier.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 03:48 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: SP3 for XP delayed...the reason?

They should release SP3 without DX10 first. SP3 is really needed for XP, as it has soo many unfixied problems currently.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 03:58 PM   #6
BSOD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7,539
Send a message via AIM to Trivium Nate
Default Re: SP3 for XP delayed...the reason?

Im sticking with Windows XP So forget Vista lol
Trivium Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 05:57 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: SP3 for XP delayed...the reason?

Viesta does have a few enhancements, but overall, its not that much different from XP in the way it looks/performs...
I do like that 3D effect though when you are selecting windows.......
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 06:42 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: SP3 for XP delayed...the reason?

I was and can alaways stick to SP1. Why bother to update to SP3 with DX10 while my PC only have DX9 based stuff?
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 06:44 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: SP3 for XP delayed...the reason?

You never updated to SP2? That was worth doing
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 06:48 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: SP3 for XP delayed...the reason?

Well, eventually, yes because Microcrap was bugging me.
__________________

lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0