Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2008, 11:42 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
DefCon_!1!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,733
Send a message via AIM to DefCon_!1! Send a message via MSN to DefCon_!1!
Default Sp1

just came out on Windows update for me, installing it know, and ill let ya all know how it goes
__________________

__________________
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4
i5 2500k 4.5ghz with H100 Cooling
2x 560ti @ 950mhz
DefCon_!1! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 12:56 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Bobert93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,449
Default Re: Sp1

yay thats good, my computers stuffing up at the momnt , this may fix it!!

its not on my update list ???
__________________

__________________
(ASUS P5E X38)__(Q6600@3.4Ghz)__(Innod3D 8800GTS 512Mb 800/1920)__(4Gb corsair XMS2 800Mhz)__(Antec 900)__(Vista 64Bit)_(Zalman 9700)
{3DMark06 15211}
Bobert93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 01:53 AM   #3
BSOD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7,539
Send a message via AIM to Trivium Nate
Default Re: Sp1

It doesnt show up for me weird...
Trivium Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 01:54 AM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
Bobert93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,449
Default Re: Sp1

are you using 64 bit version trivium???
he might be 32 , and they havent released 64 yet
__________________
(ASUS P5E X38)__(Q6600@3.4Ghz)__(Innod3D 8800GTS 512Mb 800/1920)__(4Gb corsair XMS2 800Mhz)__(Antec 900)__(Vista 64Bit)_(Zalman 9700)
{3DMark06 15211}
Bobert93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 02:00 AM   #5
BSOD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7,539
Send a message via AIM to Trivium Nate
Default Re: Sp1

im on 32 bit version
Trivium Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 02:01 AM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
Bobert93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,449
Default Re: Sp1

hmmm, this isnt far.
you will need that sp1 for you 4gb ram
__________________
(ASUS P5E X38)__(Q6600@3.4Ghz)__(Innod3D 8800GTS 512Mb 800/1920)__(4Gb corsair XMS2 800Mhz)__(Antec 900)__(Vista 64Bit)_(Zalman 9700)
{3DMark06 15211}
Bobert93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 02:58 AM   #7
Site Team
 
Lowndsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,607
Default Re: Sp1

it's not out till next month
Lowndsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 03:14 AM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
Bobert93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,449
Default Re: Sp1

then how come def con is downloading it?
__________________
(ASUS P5E X38)__(Q6600@3.4Ghz)__(Innod3D 8800GTS 512Mb 800/1920)__(4Gb corsair XMS2 800Mhz)__(Antec 900)__(Vista 64Bit)_(Zalman 9700)
{3DMark06 15211}
Bobert93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 03:19 AM   #9
Site Team
 
Lowndsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,607
Default Re: Sp1

Who knows...maybe he has it confused with something else.


Windows Vista Service Pack 1 available for MSDN and Technet subscribers

Although SP1 for Windows Vista was finalised more than a week ago, Microsoft is still tentative about its general release. Only large PC vendors, customers with volume licences and registered beta testers were initially given access to the final version. SP1 is only scheduled to appear for manual download at the download center from about mid March. Original plans were that MSDN and Technet subscribers should also wait until then, but this caused major protests. Microsoft has now yielded to the criticism ("We heard you.") and has made SP1 available for download on MSDN and Technet (access requires valid account).

Everyone else will have to be more patient – for good reasons, as it seems. Installing SP1 via Windows Update, for example, requires several additional patches Microsoft will distribute via AutoUpdate. In addition, Microsoft concedes that some drivers (or rather their setup programs, which are rerun when installing SP1) currently prevent the installation of SP1. In a test by c't magazine, the service pack couldn't be installed because of a network driver, and only booting from the Vista DVD and returning to the latest system recovery backup finally resolved the situation. Microsoft seems to hope that these critical drivers can be identified and updated via Windows Update before the general release of the service pack in April.

Another reason for the delays could be that Microsoft anticipates that while SP1 will fix many flaws it could also introduce a few new ones. This might not be unfounded, as in an initial test by c't, Norton Antivirus produced a flawed error message and Bitdefender Antivirus could no longer be installed after SP1 was installed – updating from Vista to SP1 while Bitdefender was installed, however, worked fine.

Even though the software giant explicitly pointed out that SP1 is truly finalised and that no further changes will be made, Microsoft is playing it safe for its own and the benefit of other hardware and software vendors by delaying general release: Two more months remain for distributing any necessary patches before the package will be released via AutoUpdate
Lowndsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 06:11 AM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
Bobert93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,449
Default Re: Sp1

so how long intill we see this sp1

congrats on guru btw
__________________

__________________
(ASUS P5E X38)__(Q6600@3.4Ghz)__(Innod3D 8800GTS 512Mb 800/1920)__(4Gb corsair XMS2 800Mhz)__(Antec 900)__(Vista 64Bit)_(Zalman 9700)
{3DMark06 15211}
Bobert93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0