Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 08-03-2007, 10:26 PM   #1
Fully Optimized

Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Smile So, what are my chances here

A few local computer shops are in need of some help. I don't know what the requirements are for the job, and I don't want to call yet because I don't want to look stupid. I'm only 16 years old, but I do have a lot of experience with computers. I can easily diagnose a problem with hardware and software. I'm sure the job doesn't need this, but I have some experience with Java, C++, HTML, and I'm learning XML just for the hell of it.

So, I just want to know, from my experience alone, if I stand a chance. If I have that down, then I will find out the other requirements later.

For those who ask, I pretty much excel at installing and configuring hardware. Graphics cards, RAM, optical drives, and the list goes on. With software, I'm not that experienced, but I can diagnose and repair a lot of problems that way. Programming wise, I'm still a n00b, as you l337 people would say, but I'm catching on quick. HTML is the only language I can program with off the top of my head.

My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 10:44 PM   #2
Golden Master

Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: So, what are my chances here

Naah, you really don't have a chance unless you have something like experience or certifications to back your claims up.